Salmon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
My family thought this was good when cooked following the recipe. The only thing I would change would be baking it in muffin tins so that there are more crispy edges, and adding a little bit of minced onion for flavor. Otherwise this is a really good, really easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
There was nothing about this recipe I didn't like. It was quick and easy with a minimum of ingredients, though I did add some minced onion, dash of salt and a little pepper. It made a wonderful salmon loaf just like my Mom used to make. My grandkids, ages 4 through 16 loved it served with creamed peas and fried potatoes. I will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
I like to make individual patties with this mixture and fry them in a little butter in a skillet. I like the greater proportion of browned outsides when it is made that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
We're trying to get more fish in our diets, so I thought I would give this a try. I added some diced onion and celery (maybe 1/4 or a 1/3 cup of each) and I used less milk so it wouldn't come out soupy. I also used crushed Ritz crackers instead of saltines. Tasty! My husband, who prefers tuna to salmon, seemed to enjoy it! Thanks so much for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This recipe is wonderful! I didn't have any saltines so I used club crackers instead and it was wonderful, in fact, they probably made it more buttery and rich...delicious! I recommend you leave the bones and skin in the salmon, they are very soft, and you will never know you are eating them. You can easily "smush" them up, if you want, but they are so full of calcium and protien you really should leave them in. Also, I added chopped onions and celery for a little zest! Give this recipe a try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Deeeeelicious! Reminds me of my mom's & I think it's better than a recipe I already make because cracker crumbs are used instead of bread crumbs. I did add some chopped onion----mom did that!!! A good choice for Lent, with raw fried taters and creamed corn on the side...mmmmmmm! Comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
My family loves this recipe. I've always made salmon patties and enjoyed them but from now on this is the only way I'll cook salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alma, Georgia, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
I picked the skin and bones out of the salmon prior to mixing in the rest of the ingredients! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Simple recipe and good. I also used the butter crackers and also added some thyme. This recipe is a keeper. Will do as others suggested and double recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Good basic recipe; great with a little "dressing up!" I drained, skinned and de-boned the canned salmon. I also added onion powder, celery seasoning and lemon pepper. I used crushed seasoned wheat crackers and saltines for the crumbs (plus I made more crumbs to sprinkle on top of the loaf!) I also served this with dill sauce made from 1/2 c fat free mayo, 1/4 c fat free sour cream, 1 T lemon juice, 1 T milk, 1 t dried dill weed, 1/2 t sugar and 1/8 t pepper. The whole family loved this! Thanks for the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States