Salmon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I heeded all sorts of advice on this one. I reduced the milk, added diced onion, hot sauce and plenty of spices. I served it up and was asked why are we having cat food for dinner. Needless to say not a hit with my family. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
my husband loved this - like the others, added some onion and reduced the milk to 1/4 cup. Super easy - will make for him again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harmony, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I was looking for a good base recipe for Salmon loaf. This was pretty good. the changed I made were to add cumin, mushrooms, peppers, Feta cheese, cream cheese ( no butter) and I used wheatabix instead of the crackers. I also added some hot sauce and chilies. I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Good simple food that was easy to make and even easier to eat! Discarded most of the water in the salmon can, and left bones and skin in (bones are a good source of calcium), but mashed these thoroughly. Used only 1/4 cup milk-- more than that would definitely have been too much and made the loaf too moist for my taste. Added: Mrs. Dash table blend seasoning, black pepper, 1/4 cup minced onions, three minced garlic cloves, 2 tblspns. fresh parsley, lightly sprinkled some rubbed thyme in, and after it was in the loaf pan sprinkled some parmesan cheese very lightly on top. Done in the stated time. Used a dill sauce recipe I found on this site, that was a mistake! Next time I might want to serve this with a warm cheese sauce (yeah!). Served the loaf alongside roasted potato wedges and baked asparagus spears. Minus the dill sauce a perfect, comforting little meal, good during the wintertime but probably all year round as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
not terribly impressed with this recipe. firstly, this made such a small loaf, my family of 2 adults and one child devoured it in one meal and was still hungry. it was quite mushy, as well. certainly not what i remember my mom making for us kids! will continue hunting for a better salmon loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Good but can use some onion salt, chopped onions, garlic salt & a dash of worchestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Great recipe. To all those who said it was too bland the recipe is meant as a base and any good cook knows u start with a foundation and build it to make ur own creation. THANKS A BUNCH will make over n over n over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Made it this evening for dinner, added about a tablespoon of Dijon mustard in the mix. We will be making it over again, might try other variations (like some kind of sauce on top toward the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
WOW!! I was a little nervous about making this recipe because my husband has a favorite salmon loaf recipe that his mom gave us, but he said that was the best salmon loaf he's ever had. He really liked how moist this recipe is. He practically licked the dish. The kids ate it all. The only thing I did different from the recipe was add minced onion like some of the other reviews stated. Awesome and easy recipe with ingredients you always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Stierly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was wonderful! It was a tad bit bland - but I topped it with a dill sauce, so you couldn't tell. Might add some more spices next time, but I will definitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States