Salmon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
great base for a recipe, highly customizeable, I added minced red onions, capers, lemon juice, and small diced red and green bell peppers, mixed in some thyme and dill for an herb touch, and left out the salt, capers provide enough salt, also I went with half club crackers, half saltine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Wow, this is a great base for salmon loaf and the beauty is that you can add spices and herbs to your liking. I made a few changes.....I used half of the milk like other reviews suggested and also added about 2 T fesh lemon juice. A few shakes of dried dill weed and some fresh basil I had on hand. I put a few diced onions and celery in. Used olive oil instead of butter. I baked them in muffin tins sprayed thoroughly with Pam and had to cut and scrape each one out, so I won't be doing that again.....at least not with those aluminum pans. They are cute though if you can get them out. Good Luck. I will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Made it tonight and it was good. Best Salmon loaf I've ate. I did add one extra thing...Gold Fish Crackers. Kicking like Jackie Chan! Tasted great! Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blooming Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was not very good, at all. I was looking for an alternate way to cook canned salmon, rather than frying it, and this just doesn't cut it. I was afraid of it being too bland, so I added some onion and some spices. In addition, I was afraid it would be incredibly soggy, and it was - even after I drained at least half of the juice from the fish. The changes that I made were the only reasons that it was edible. I might consider making this again if I drained all the juices, but I doubt it. It was pretty gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Omitted liquid from salmon, used 1/4 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Good flavor but too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Wanted to like this recipe more than I actually did. I too added some extra flavors to spice it up (salt-free Spike, lemon pepper, onion...) but the problem was the consistency. Perhaps doubling the recipe would make a better loaf (?) I wanted to give the loaf a try, but found myself wishing that I had made patties instead... Not bad, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Great simple, healthy recipe. I use canned red (sockeye) salmon, 7-grain crackers instead of saltines, omit the salt, and add diced onion. We love it and make it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was a good recipe, but a tad bland, and that was after i added extra stuff to it like onions, garlic, mrs dash, etc... But it held together really well, was quick to make, and the hubby and kids ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tablescraps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I have tried many different recipes. This one is by far the best. I used spiced stuffing inplace of crackers and used minced onions and minced garlic because I had these on hand. Also chopped hot peppers (Food blender very fine chopping) It worked out nicely. Everyone was well pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States