Salmon in the Dishwasher Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I would honestly give the recipe a four, because the fish wasn't hot enough after just the five minutes from dishwasher to dinner table. But I can't give it less than a perfect score after the look on my wife's face when she found out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is insanity. It is also serendipity. Would suggest using a zip- lock type bag (not the press and seal type as these can open) if you actually wash dishes while cooking the salmon. Also get as much air as possible out of bag to avoid expansion popping seal. No other suggestions. Can't improve on perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I loved this recipe! My cousins from Alaska gave me one of their King Salmon they'd caught and thought to try this one out! Turned out to be the best I've ever had. I tried a couple of pieces with different ingredients...Soy sauce, sesame oil, scallions, or just adding oregano to the original recipe was great. I shared this with my cousins and they only wished they had a dishwasher after I raved about how moist this Salmon was. Only had one problem, a little water got into the foil. Next time I'll enclose the salmon in a zip lock for extra protection. I'm going to try this one with other types of fish, I'll bet it'll work just as well! What a hoot to cook in the dishwasher! And man...no pots, pans, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Wow! Very moist and delicious. I will have to try this again. My husband thinks I'm crazy, but he also said it was the best salmon I have ever made. It gets 4 stars because I thought it was a little bland, but the cooking method was right on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Although my review probably won't be read, since so many others have reviewed this recipe... It was the best salmon I have ever had!!!! Hands down. This idea is geneous. I used all the recipe ingredients then added garlic powder and onion powder. It couldn't have turned out better. I used salmon steaks. I was a little worried about not having a backup plan, but it turned out to be the most juicy, moist, and flavorful salmon I have ever had!!!!!!!!!! Thanks again for this recipe. I don't know if I will ever cook salmon in the oven ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Yes, yes. I thought this was a joke, too but I decided to give it a try. I used two one-half copper river salmon filets for it. I had to change the spices a little because I didn't have those listed at home. Threw the fillets in and set the dishwasher and off it went. When the wash cycle was done, I decided to check on them. To my surprise, they were done perfectly. So freakin' moist and flakey... Bravo to whomever discovered this way of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
It was an interesting concept and fun to try - unfortunately my dishwasher didn't provide the restaurant-quality cooking that nearly everyone else seemed to get! This was just OK - no better than salmon I've baked in the oven in terms of moistness. I didn't care for the mix of seasonings in the recipe. Maybe I'll try again someday with a different dishwasher and different seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
I used the idea of the dishwasher, with different seasonings. I used mayo with dill and sea salt. It came out of the dishwasher not cooked well enough, so I stuck it in the oven for 15 minutes at 350. It was a nice idea, but it didn't work for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I wasn't sure how to rate this recipe since I combined it with the Asian Salmon recipe I found on this site, but I wanted to try to counter the negative ratings this recipe got. This was WONDERFUL! What an easy way to cook dinner, and the salmon came out moist and delicious. I will never cook salmon any other way, regardless of the recipe that I use. Thanks for a great (if a little strange!) idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I thought this was a JOKE or something! I really thought it was rather ridiculous until I started reading the reviews.. Then I thought, what the heck, i'll try it. OMG! This is the BEST fish I have ever made!! And I am a very good cook, and have I dined at a lot of extravagant resturaunts. I didn't use the suggested spices. I used my own blend: olive oil, a bit of sherry, lemon pepper, garlic salt, fresh tarragon, oregano, & parsley, and two slices of fresh lemon on top. The herbs made it so pretty. I would have used the dill weed, but I didn't have any. Delicious!! As for the dishwasher, I just wrapped everything in the foil, stuck the packets in ziploc freezer bags, and ran it in my dishwasher with a full load of dishes, soap & all! It was unbelievably tender and juicy, and so evenly cooked. Just perfect. Amazing. My husband just stared when I told him how I made it, like "are you serious"? and NOTHING ever shocks him. He loved it! I am SO going to do this with my mother in law sometime. Just imagine the look on her face! It's funny just thinking about it. I am sold. I am never going back to my oven for salmon! Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States