Salmon in Lemon-Dill Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
My family loved this salmon. The sauce is absolutely delicious and would be nice with any kind of fish. I did use FRESH dill and thyme (double the amounts). This is the best -light and fresh tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
My husband and I are salmon lovers,so I am always looking for different recipes. This one will be a new favorite! The lemon-dill sauce was excellent,however,I did use fresh herbs in place of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This was my first attempt with making fish ever. It was delicious. I did make some changes in order to add flavor and cut fat. I used fresh dill and thyme (double the dry amounts) per reviewers suggestion. I substituted milk for cream (so I used 1 cup of 2% milk instead of 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup milk). I think I only used about 4 tbsp of butter. I don't think I added more butter to the sauce once it was thick (if I did, it wasn't 1/4 cup) and used about 1/8 tbsp when cooking the salmon first. Once the salmon was finished cooking in the sauce, I decided to thin the sauce a bit with more milk, lemon juice, and wine so that I could pour the sauce over some wheat pasta. It was excellent! It didn't need any more herbs since it was flavorful enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This sauce is fantastic! It is flavorful but not overpowering, and brings out the taste of the salmon quite well. I doubled the recipe and instead of cooking the salmon in a saute pan, put it in a baking dish in the oven. Every one of my guests raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Very good flavor. Would probably reduce butter next time and perhaps use fresh herbs, but overall this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Delicious. This is one of the best salmon recipes I have tried. I used garlic instead of shallot (didn't have any) and it turned out great. I cooked the entire time in the oven and it was so moist and flavorful. I will make sure that this goes in the permanent file. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I made this tonight with some Chum fillets that were in my freezer. I made a few changes to the recipe though. I didn't have a shallot on hand so I minced two garlic cloves instead. I only used 2 tablespoons of butter in total rather than the 10 tablespoons called for. After sauting the garlic I did not add any more butter. I did not use cream. Instead I used 1 cup of 1% milk. I thickened the sauce with 1/2 teaspoon of cornstarch mixed with 1 tablespoon of milk. I also baked the salmon in the oven rather than in a skillet. I lined a baking pan with aluminum foil, placed the salmon in the pan and poured the sauce overtop. I then baked the salmon for 15 minutes at 400F. (A good rule of thumb for baking fish fillets is 10 minutes per inch of thickness at 400F). This was excellent and I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
My husband and I thought that this was VERY sour and borderline bitter. And I didn't even use all of the 5 tablespoons lemon juice! We were just glad that we didn't have white wine vinegar to add to the sour taste of the sauce. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIERRAMUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
My family LOVES this recipe! My mother-in-law had never used wine for cooking so when she wasn't sure the sauce would be good, but when she tried it she absolutely loved it! This has become our family fav for salmon and I cook it almost every time we have company. The only this I do different is use a little less butter and I also bake the salmon with lemon pepper, dill, butter, and a fresh squeeze of lemon juice. We enjoy it served with steamed asparagus or sauted veggies and rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellenwood, Georgia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon-Pepper Salmon II

Oven-broiled salmon, glazed with butter and soy sauce.

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States