Salmon in Lemon-Dill Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I see how this sauce would be fantastic, but dear lord, what's with all the butter?! I started with one small onion and one clove of garlic then proceeded with the sauce as suggested. It was terrific after the milk/cream has thickened, I loved the wine and the vinegar in there for depth of taste and the herbs were lovely. (I doubled the dill and halved the thyme to make it a DILL sauce.) Then there was the 1/4 cup of butter to be added. I was suspicious of it but wanted to make the recipe as written first so I went along with it. At this stage it was still ok. But another 1/4 cup of butter for frying the fish? Then that to be mixed with the rest of the sauce? Very odd. I did end up taking at least half of that butter off the fish before mixing because it just looked wrong, and yet, it came out way to fatty. So sad as what I could taste of the sauce was great. I am a great fan of making rich food but with this I have to wonder if there was a type-o in the recipe. But I have certainly learnt from this. I plan to make this sauce for fish again and again and again - minus all the butter. Thanks for the recipe, I'm sure it will be a fabulous 5 star one next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
My husband was not fond of this. He said he prefers the traditional way we make salmon, topped with hollandaise sauce....once he likes a food prepared a certain way, it takes a lot to change his opinion, that being said, he's a good critic because when he likes something different, I know its a good recipe! I actually thought this sauce tasted similar to hollandaise, but I was expecting a bit more punch due to the fresh lemon juice and the amount of dill. I also like other reviewers made the sauce separately and after seasoning the salmon, poured the sauce over the salmon and baked it at 400 for 20 min. Don't think I'll make this again, but I look forward to testing out other salmon recipes on this site and see if any of them win my hubby over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This is so good! I did like some of the other reviewers and baked the salmon the whole time. I made the sauce separately and served over the salmon. I used the 2 TBS. of butter with the shallots, but then only stirred in another 1/2 TBS. of butter at the end. I think all of the other butter is unnecessary. It tasted great without it! I did use the cream and used 1% milk. I used chicken broth in place of the wine, and didn't add any extra salt. This was pretty easy to put together, and the sauce went well with steamed broccoli and new potatoes. I really, really liked the sauce, and salmon is always yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
My very first time cooking (or even eating!) salmon. It was quite good. Hubby is a salmon connoisseur and absolutely LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This was unbelievable. The tast was incrediable. My four year old son and my husband loved it. I will be making this on a regular basis. Thanks for the recipe. A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Very tasty. I used light cream for this recipe-- will likely use milk and a little less butter than what is specified for next time as salmon tends to be an oily fish anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
My generous neighbour went fishing yesterday, and showed up on or doorstep last night with a huge slab of fresh salmon. I found this recipe, and though it looked interesting. Sooo yummy! I served this with oven roated potatoes, and it was just lovley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Great recipe. Nice and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfish1282

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
My husband says this is the best salmon recipe I've ever made! And I think I agree! The fish was so tender and cream sauce was delicious. I ran out of milk so I used all cream with made it a very rich sauce but I didn't change anything else. Probably not the healthiest but definately delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon-Pepper Salmon II

Oven-broiled salmon, glazed with butter and soy sauce.

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States