Salmon in Lemon-Dill Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I made this last night and couldn't eat mine. I thought the thyme (tsp) was way too strong with the dill. I think it would have been really delicious with maybe 1/4 tsp. or none, because everything else up to the point of all of that thyme was good, but it became overpowering and too complex. I didn't use all of the butter and the consistency and look was beautiful. This is the first recipe with so many raves that I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This sauce is really lovely. I used it with fish ravioli and it blended really well. I only used 1 tablespoon of butter to saute the shallots and instead of double cream I used a lighter option, some light cooking cream and instead of milk I used skimmed milk, it still came thick and its much healtier. Next time I will try and use garlic as suggested in other reviews cos I will surely do this sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosta, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I really liked the taste of this, but the sauce turned out very oily. I think next time I will cut down on the butter. I tried to add more milk like another reviewer did when her sauce was oily, but the sauce just separated on me after doing that. I will try again with a dramatic decrease in the amount of butter and see if I get better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Mm-mm! I had to give four stars though because I thought there was a bit too much butter (and I love butter!). We don't usually have cream or white wine so I substituted sour cream and vodka. I will definitely make this recipe again as it was delicious! In summer, I'll try fresh dill and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Vos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Assen, Drenthe, Netherlands
Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is an awesome recipe. I only made a few changes to try and cut out some calories: I used almost all milk with just a splash of cream and used only half the butter. I did add more spice for flavor, and added some capers as well. I also used some corn starch to help thicken, and will use more next time. The biggest change was I baked the fish for 10 minutes at 350, added the sauce to the pan and upped the temp to 375, and baked for another 20-25 minutes. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I made this sauce for a dinner party and put it on Halibut. It was a hit! Everyone raved about the dill sauce. It was a little to lemony, so I added a bit more whipping cream and butter, then thickened it with a butter flour roux. I used garlic instead of shallots. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Great recipe. Tried one on here that was mayo and sour cream based, horrible, through it out and tried this, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Very tasty recipe. It's not the healtiest way to prepare salmon with all of the butter and cream, but it would probably be a nice treat every once in a while. I substituted red onion for the shallot since it was what I had on hand. I also did not have lemon pepper, so I used some lemon zest and black pepper. Next time I will be more careful with the heat after adding the cream and butter because the sauce broke on me. I might also try adding some cornstarch slurry since that is also supposed to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
One of the kids does not like salmon, so I made this when she was at camp for the rest of us. After the first mouthful, I got a big thumbs up from the 7yr old. The recipe looks complicated, but it goes pretty quickly. Absolutely delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flame

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I made this for our 6 month anniversary dinner, even though my husband isn't so into salmon because I had some salmon i needed to use and I wanted to make something light. Let's just say he finished his plate! We both loved it! I baked the salmon and then served it over pasta with the sauce. I followed recipe to a T besides for using garlic and a only a Tbls of butter added at the end. The sauce was VERY oily so I added some more milk and it ended up fine! Thank you so much for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon-Pepper Salmon II

Oven-broiled salmon, glazed with butter and soy sauce.

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States