Salmon in Lemon-Dill Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My sauce split... :( ...but it still tasted great. I also added some garlic and baked the fish seperately from the sauce. I will try it again, it WAS yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This recipe was delicious! I made it for my roommates and myself and they all loved it. I did follow the advice of the other reviews and cut down on the butter. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Our favorite salmon dish for 3 years now. We renamed it Grilled Salmon w/Heavenly Cloud Sauce. We grill the salmon first and make sauce separate. Reduced the butter to 6 tbl, 1/4 cup cream and 3/4 cup of milk, increased wine by 1oz, added fresh Lemon Zest, and mixed in a roux at the end to compensate for thickness. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This recipe was really delicious and I will make it again....I had it over salmon. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
got to step 2 and milk and cream curddles in the vinegar and lemon juice. What am i doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this the other night for my family and it was delicious. I made a few minor changes - I used garlic instead of the shallots, only used the first 2 tablespoons of butter and baked the salmon brushed with olive oil and salt and pepper. I doubled the sauce and served the salmon over snow peas and pasta. I found the sauce to be very lemony when I tasted it, and didn't think it would be a hit - but the flavor evened out when I served it and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I made this recipe a few days ago. At first, I hit some trouble because when I added the milk to the sauce, it completely curdled. I'm wondering if it was because the lemon juice and vinegar were already in there? I know the pan wasn't too hot, and the milk was not expired. So, I had to start again, but instead of milk I added some sour cream. Yogurt would have been my alternative of choice, but I did not have any. Second of all, this sauce could have used a lot less of the other seasonings, like the thyme. Thyme was very strong and it almost killed the dill flavor I love. Overall, it was good. I am a fan of sour dishes, but not bitter. So, next time, I will heat the milk in the sauce up slowly before I add the lemon juice. My husband absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
A cavalcade of cuisine delight! The flavors are heavenly! I used 1 cup of Alfredo sauce instead of milk and cream and I used scallions instead of a shallot. I added one diced garlic clove to the scallions. After returning the salmon back to the iron skillet, I baked it 15 minutes at 400 in the oven. (My stove boils on low!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawnya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe almost worked. We will try it again, but with these variations. First, hold the sauce until plating. In step 2, I had a perfect sauce that was ready to serve. Sauteing the fish took approx 15 minutes for one inch thick pieces. Step 3 said to cook fish in the sauce. This extra time and heat destroyed the sauce- curdled and separated it. Next time, ladle the sauce on after the fish has been plated. Second, I used butter where called for, but only half the amount. No problems. Last, I substituted 1 cup of 2% milk for the 1/2 c cream and 1/2 c milk. Sauce still thickened up while whisking- looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Great Recipe!! I cooked this for my wife and I and it was very tasty, the salmon wasn't overcooked, and it really gave it a lemony, capers sort of taste. the only I changed was the cooking time on the Salmon from 8 minutes to about 10 to 12 minutes to get it really cooked without over drying it. Also, I was suggest lowering the heat on the sauce to let it really simmer and thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States