Salmon in Lemon-Dill Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My sauce split... :( ...but it still tasted great. I also added some garlic and baked the fish seperately from the sauce. I will try it again, it WAS yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This recipe was delicious! I made it for my roommates and myself and they all loved it. I did follow the advice of the other reviews and cut down on the butter. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Our favorite salmon dish for 3 years now. We renamed it Grilled Salmon w/Heavenly Cloud Sauce. We grill the salmon first and make sauce separate. Reduced the butter to 6 tbl, 1/4 cup cream and 3/4 cup of milk, increased wine by 1oz, added fresh Lemon Zest, and mixed in a roux at the end to compensate for thickness. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This recipe was really delicious and I will make it again....I had it over salmon. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
got to step 2 and milk and cream curddles in the vinegar and lemon juice. What am i doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this the other night for my family and it was delicious. I made a few minor changes - I used garlic instead of the shallots, only used the first 2 tablespoons of butter and baked the salmon brushed with olive oil and salt and pepper. I doubled the sauce and served the salmon over snow peas and pasta. I found the sauce to be very lemony when I tasted it, and didn't think it would be a hit - but the flavor evened out when I served it and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I made this recipe a few days ago. At first, I hit some trouble because when I added the milk to the sauce, it completely curdled. I'm wondering if it was because the lemon juice and vinegar were already in there? I know the pan wasn't too hot, and the milk was not expired. So, I had to start again, but instead of milk I added some sour cream. Yogurt would have been my alternative of choice, but I did not have any. Second of all, this sauce could have used a lot less of the other seasonings, like the thyme. Thyme was very strong and it almost killed the dill flavor I love. Overall, it was good. I am a fan of sour dishes, but not bitter. So, next time, I will heat the milk in the sauce up slowly before I add the lemon juice. My husband absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
A cavalcade of cuisine delight! The flavors are heavenly! I used 1 cup of Alfredo sauce instead of milk and cream and I used scallions instead of a shallot. I added one diced garlic clove to the scallions. After returning the salmon back to the iron skillet, I baked it 15 minutes at 400 in the oven. (My stove boils on low!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawnya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe almost worked. We will try it again, but with these variations. First, hold the sauce until plating. In step 2, I had a perfect sauce that was ready to serve. Sauteing the fish took approx 15 minutes for one inch thick pieces. Step 3 said to cook fish in the sauce. This extra time and heat destroyed the sauce- curdled and separated it. Next time, ladle the sauce on after the fish has been plated. Second, I used butter where called for, but only half the amount. No problems. Last, I substituted 1 cup of 2% milk for the 1/2 c cream and 1/2 c milk. Sauce still thickened up while whisking- looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Great Recipe!! I cooked this for my wife and I and it was very tasty, the salmon wasn't overcooked, and it really gave it a lemony, capers sort of taste. the only I changed was the cooking time on the Salmon from 8 minutes to about 10 to 12 minutes to get it really cooked without over drying it. Also, I was suggest lowering the heat on the sauce to let it really simmer and thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States