Salmon Hash With Potatoes & Dill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Really fantastic, I wish I'd taken a picture! It was so, so good, I served it with buttermilk mashed potatoes with green onions and it was great. I broiled my salmon filet with some olive oil, dried oregano, salt & pepper and then when it was done I flaked it with a fork into bite size pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This recipe was so easy to make and my whole family loved it. I used 1 T. of dried dill weed since I had no fresh on hand and it turned out great. Definitely will make again for breakfast, lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was wonderful! I was skeptical about the ketchup and mustard, but it was lovely together. I also reduced the amount of oil. As a whole, my family and I aren't too keen on dill, so I used fresh rosemary (half the amount that was listed for the dill) and a little lemon thyme. I also added a drizzle of honey to the dressing as I wanted to use Dijon mustard, but also have that little hint of sweetness. WONDERFUL! Give this one a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Excellent hash, and a nice change from the typical corned-beed: crusty, brown, and delicious. I didn't think browned salmon would be so tasty. Because it is such a good basic recipe, it's easy to mix and match proteins and herb flavorings. Just follow the same preparation directions and it will turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Easy and tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
We loved this! I accidentally used baby yams instead of potatoes which ended up tasting awesome. I added bell peppers, shallots, and fresh garlic as a matter of personal taste. It was delicious and a nice alternative for salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
My husband scarfed this down - he is a big salmon fan. I thought it was good (but will change a few things next time) and will serve it to family for brunch next weekend. I will reduce the oil as someone else has suggested, and maybe add some diced tomatoes (personal preference- I put them on almost everything) *I would definitely recommend adding the salmon when the onions are just about done. Great alternative to corned beef hash :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZenBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
It was quite good. I was tempted to leave the mustard/ketchup out of the recipe but then I thought where would the flavor come from so I used honey mustard instead of Dijon and I was pleasantly surprised. Only had red potatoes and they were a bit too solid ... next time I'll use, as suggested, a more starchy potato other than that I was pleasantly pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Altamont, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Delicious and easy. Added some butter to the potatoes towards the end to brown them more and add some more flavor. Our new go to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a really great recipe, though I found the directions unnecessarily confusing. I basically just saute onions, and fry potatoes until softened and slightly crisp/golden brown. In parallel, I fry two pieces of salmon (I don't use filets). As everything is frying, I prep the sauce. I double the sauce recipe, as I find that the original amount does not completely coat all of the ingredients. I've also recently substituted dried rosemary for fresh dill in the sauce as I was out of the latter. I found this to be even tastier (and less messy) than using dill which I did the first time I made it. Once the salmon is slightly fried, to the point of being softened, I allow it to cool for a few minutes and then mince the fish meat with a knife/my fingers, removing any bones. I then combine potatoes, onions, and salmon in a big frying pan (by this point each is fully cooked), and allow it to fry for 5 mins mixing frequently. Two minutes before I am about to turn off the heat, I pour on the sauce and mix thoroughly. Results are extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carabiniero8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States