Salmon Hash With Potatoes & Dill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Excellent hash, and a nice change from the typical corned-beed: crusty, brown, and delicious. I didn't think browned salmon would be so tasty. Because it is such a good basic recipe, it's easy to mix and match proteins and herb flavorings. Just follow the same preparation directions and it will turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Really fantastic, I wish I'd taken a picture! It was so, so good, I served it with buttermilk mashed potatoes with green onions and it was great. I broiled my salmon filet with some olive oil, dried oregano, salt & pepper and then when it was done I flaked it with a fork into bite size pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was just ok. Edible, but nothing special. The fish was overcooked, I should have added it at the end of the onions, or cooked separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I skipped the ketchup/mustard combo and instead just added dried dill to the whole concoction. I served it with the creamy dill dip (from this site) on the side as an optional thing but everyone ended up using it and raved about how good it was. Overall, great idea. (Love it with poached eggs as well!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marietta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Delicious use of left-over salmon cooked the night before. I added the salmon just before the onions were done. Definitely a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Overall - a Great flavour combination. I was a bit unsure of ketchup and mustard...but it turned out very tasty. I will keep this recipe but would cut out some of the oil. I was intending to make 2 portions but ended up eating it all in one go! I added some capers to add a bit of zing - but quite fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwicook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
My husband scarfed this down - he is a big salmon fan. I thought it was good (but will change a few things next time) and will serve it to family for brunch next weekend. I will reduce the oil as someone else has suggested, and maybe add some diced tomatoes (personal preference- I put them on almost everything) *I would definitely recommend adding the salmon when the onions are just about done. Great alternative to corned beef hash :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZenBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
It was quite good. I was tempted to leave the mustard/ketchup out of the recipe but then I thought where would the flavor come from so I used honey mustard instead of Dijon and I was pleasantly surprised. Only had red potatoes and they were a bit too solid ... next time I'll use, as suggested, a more starchy potato other than that I was pleasantly pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Altamont, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was wonderful! I was skeptical about the ketchup and mustard, but it was lovely together. I also reduced the amount of oil. As a whole, my family and I aren't too keen on dill, so I used fresh rosemary (half the amount that was listed for the dill) and a little lemon thyme. I also added a drizzle of honey to the dressing as I wanted to use Dijon mustard, but also have that little hint of sweetness. WONDERFUL! Give this one a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Delicious and easy. Added some butter to the potatoes towards the end to brown them more and add some more flavor. Our new go to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States