Salmon Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I want to give this 10 stars!!! this stuff is AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I like the cream cheese and sourcream in this recipe. I added 1-2 tsp horseradish, some capers, and salt/pepper for taste. It gets light and creamy when you use the hand mixture-another nice touch. Tips: Don't add too much sourcream like I did-because I didn't measure it. It was a little to thinned out, so I added about 1/3 can more salmon and that seemed to "bulk it up" to the right consistency. I also did not have pimentos, so I substitued a small can of mild green chiles and it worked well-very similar to pimentos in taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
My 5 year old, said it was better than baked beans, and that's his favorite. I didn't even refriderate it and he was eating it right out of the bowl. I did grate some lemon zest and it really brought all the flavors together and perked it up a bit. I also made it with boiled salmon, I was acutally making it for the cat and had so much left over. It was an excellent choice for this dish. Oh, i also used sweet smoked paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I am in Louisiana so I needed more spice. I added a little crab boil seasoning, and half 1/4 cup cheddar monterey blend cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
The basic recipe was just *okay* for me. I tried it cold AND warmed up in the oven. I prefer it warm, but it still needed something. It was lacking in flavor (for us at least). I only had a 14.75 oz. can of Salmon, so I doubled everything else. I also used half mayo have sour cream, as per other reviewer's rec's. I upped the amount of parsley and chopped up some sweet Vidalia onion, along with some green onions, and garlic. I also threw in a can of chopped artichoke hearts, a couple drops of liquid smoke (again, as others suggested), & red chili pepper flakes to try and add "something" to this dip. I think (and I could be wrong), some capers would go really well in here. In fact, that MAY be what I feel like I'm missing. IDK. Either way, it's not bad per se, just lacking in some flavor. We ate these with Parmesan, Garlic & Herb Baked Pita Chips just to add extra flavor. Those helped too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I halved all the ingredients except for the salmon. I also omitted the butter completely. Replace the sour cream with olive oil based mayo and use lowfat cream cheese. Its a much healthier version. Still turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Ok, but I thought it was a little too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
DELICIOUS dip. Can't say enough good things about it. I did not use canned salmon and instead bought fresh grilled salmon from the market. And instead of using just sour cream, I used half sour cream and half mayonnaise. I served this on sun dried tomato and rosemary focaccia chips. Excellent recipe and feeds a generous amount of people. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Galyean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samharris_
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
It was great! I wanted to put some liquid smoke in, but I did not have any. Instead, I used 1/4 tea. smoked paprika. It gave it an excellent color and flavor (I will try to add a photo). I also substituted the sour cream for mayonnaise, and added 1/4 tea. garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samharris_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Very good dip. Went well on sourdough bread for mother's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Quick Cured Salmon

See how to make a quick, simple brine for luxurious cured salmon.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States