Salmon Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I am in Louisiana so I needed more spice. I added a little crab boil seasoning, and half 1/4 cup cheddar monterey blend cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
The basic recipe was just *okay* for me. I tried it cold AND warmed up in the oven. I prefer it warm, but it still needed something. It was lacking in flavor (for us at least). I only had a 14.75 oz. can of Salmon, so I doubled everything else. I also used half mayo have sour cream, as per other reviewer's rec's. I upped the amount of parsley and chopped up some sweet Vidalia onion, along with some green onions, and garlic. I also threw in a can of chopped artichoke hearts, a couple drops of liquid smoke (again, as others suggested), & red chili pepper flakes to try and add "something" to this dip. I think (and I could be wrong), some capers would go really well in here. In fact, that MAY be what I feel like I'm missing. IDK. Either way, it's not bad per se, just lacking in some flavor. We ate these with Parmesan, Garlic & Herb Baked Pita Chips just to add extra flavor. Those helped too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I halved all the ingredients except for the salmon. I also omitted the butter completely. Replace the sour cream with olive oil based mayo and use lowfat cream cheese. Its a much healthier version. Still turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Ok, but I thought it was a little too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
DELICIOUS dip. Can't say enough good things about it. I did not use canned salmon and instead bought fresh grilled salmon from the market. And instead of using just sour cream, I used half sour cream and half mayonnaise. I served this on sun dried tomato and rosemary focaccia chips. Excellent recipe and feeds a generous amount of people. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Galyean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samharris_
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
It was great! I wanted to put some liquid smoke in, but I did not have any. Instead, I used 1/4 tea. smoked paprika. It gave it an excellent color and flavor (I will try to add a photo). I also substituted the sour cream for mayonnaise, and added 1/4 tea. garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samharris_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Very good dip. Went well on sourdough bread for mother's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This turned out very well. I used mayo instead of sour cream, added a few drops of liquid smoke and used chopped red pepper instead of pimento. Made small cream puff shells and filled open halves with the dip. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Tapps, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Fabulous! I made this with what I had on hand which meant omitting fresh parsley & pimentos. I also forgot to add the butter. I put this in a small casserole, topped with a sprinkle of parm and baked for 15 mins @ 350. It was a delicious hot dip. I used tostito scoops and crostini. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was yummy. I used a salmon fillet in it's own microwavable pouch, orange bourbon flavored. Also as some others recommended, used mayo instead of sour cream plus I added one dash of liquid smoke. Loved it!! Perfect for crackers or snacking with some toasted bread and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

All about Salmon

Learn all about this versatile, heart-healthy fish.

Fishing Wild Salmon

See the Knutson family recipe for pan-fried wild salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States