Salmon Deviled Eggs with Homemade Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
The mayonnaise recipe is delicious!! I added a tablespoon of lemon juice though. The key to is to let the oil drip VERY, VERY slowly in order for the emulsification process to take place. I pour it into the "pusher" attachtment (it has a small hole at the bottom)of my food processor. Unlike vinaigrette, homemade mayo should not separate if made correctly. It "sets up" nicely if you use this process (SEE MY PHOTO). Thank you for the recipe! UPDATE: For those of you who do not have a hole in your pusher, simply poke a small hole on the bottom of paper cup. Place the cup, hole facing the feeder, and pour the oil into the paper cup. This way the oil will dribble which is an essential step in ensuring homemade mayo to "set up".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Just a note from the "author". My original recipe did not call for mixing the "homemade mayonnaise" with the eggs, but to use as a side to top the eggs. We have always made the egg mixture with regular Hellmanns mayo and dolloped the homemade mayonnaise on top. This is the way my mother served it to us in France. It is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
8 IN THE MORNING, FORGOT TO BUY MAYO, MADE FROM THIS RECIPE. EXCELLENT. I KNOW VINEGAR KEEPS THE WHITE COLOR AND LEMON JUICE DOESN'T. EITHER WILL MAKE EGG CHANGE CHEMISTRY SO IT ABSORBS MORE OIL. I USE TABASCO INSTEAD OF BLACK PEPPER, AND THE MIXER RUINS MAYO, HAND WHISK IS SLOWER AND WON'T BREAK THE EGGS. MY ARMS ARE USED TO THE WHISK...DIDN'T REMEMBER THE EGG/OIL RATIO, THAT'S WHY I SEARCHED FOR THIS RECIPE. I JUST LIKE HOMEADE STUFF BETTER THAN SPENDING MORE AND BUYING STOREBOUGHT. FRESHER. YOU SHOULDN'T REFRIGERATE THE MAYO FOR 8 HOURS TOO, HAS TO FINISH SETTING UP BEFORE REFRIGERATING IT. HOPE THESE TIPS ARE USEFUL. THANK-YOU SO MUCH FOR A GREAT RECIPE, IN MY CASE, JUST THE MAYO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I'm rating this on the concept, not the use of canned salmon. Yes, canned salmon is very fishy tasting and the only way I eat salmon is when my hubby smokes it. I suggest investing in a good smoked salmon from the grocery store because this appy really is delicious if done properly. I did not make my own mayo; Hellmans works just fine for me. I also added some herbs and spices to the salmon/egg mixture including dill. Lovely appetizer and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was AWESOME!!! I can't wait to serve it at my next party! I did not make the mayonnaise from scratch though, I used Hellmann's and just added the garlic, vinegar, salt and pepper to it. I did dollop a little extra on top of the eggs, and used the doctored mayo to make the yolk mixture. Next time I will sprinkle freshly ground pepper on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
When I made this with smoked salmon instead of canned, it was wonderful! Top with snipped chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Portia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Just rating on the mayonnaise part of the recipe: Not the closest ever made to mayonnaise from the store. Still good, but not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother2Be

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I used just the mayo recipe and it's fantastic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Not bad but very fishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This recipe would have been better with tuna. The salmon is very overpowering to the flavor, especially after it has sat for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

How to Make Deviled Eggs

Learn simple tricks to making these classic hors d'oeuvres.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States