Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
We really enjoyed it, will make again regularly. Used one large can of salmon and used minced garlic instead of powder. Also used regular milk instead of canned because thats what we had. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Perfectly delicious and well-balanced flavor! I subbed fresh thyme for the dill weed, almond milk for the evaporated milk, added some bay leaves in the cooking process, and blended about 2/3 of the boiled vegetables before adding the fish and milk. Don't overthink this recipe; it's best simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywoodartchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wishbone
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was very good. I used less cheese than in the directions but also next time I will use less dill bc to me it was the strongest taste in the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Best salmon chowder ever! Like others I used fresh salmon, fresh garlic and a 4 cheese blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Added more Chicken broth. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was really good, but I'm picky about fish so we used smoked salmon instead of canned. We've made this 3 times with a combination of smoked, canned, and fresh and the best time we only had smoked salmon in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is the most delicious soup! I love this recipe and have made it sooooo many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
My family loves this. Made it again tonight. I used lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I used canned salmon and my husband and I both thought it was good. I only used one can, picked out the skin and large bones, and added half the liquid mixed with cornstarch to thicken the chowder. I needed cornstarch because I didn't use cheese. I'm sure it would be good but we just can't eat much cheese. I also didn't use any salt and added a bay leaf. Obviously this would be better with fresh instead of canned fish, but canned is more affordable and easy to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was very good. Changes I made were minor...used about a lb of fresh salmon instead of canned, fresh dill instead of dried, and half a can of creamed corn, half a can of regular (drained). Thanks so much for a chowder recipe that deviates from the heavy cream recipes (not that I don't love cream, just nice to have something a little healthier)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States