Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is a great super easy chowder that tastes great. Perfect way to use up leftover baked salmon! Used fat free evaporated milk and skipped the cheese to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
5 stars! I made this recipe as-is, except that I used fresh salmon fillets and dill and omitted the cheese. My 3-year old had seconds! I was so amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
very tasty, probably could have left out the corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delicious! I was looking for a different way of cooking salmon to make it stretch further, and decided to try this recipe. It was really really good, and we're even going to make it for company. I used fresh garlic and salmon as suggested, and added the salmon at the end and simmered it for 5 minutes. Then, after the fish was cooked, I removed it from the heat and stirred in the cheese until it melted (I estimated and probably used about 2 cups, and it didn't taste too cheesy to me at all). I also thickened it with about 1-2 T flour. Since I used homemade chicken stock, I waited to add the salt, and probably used about 1/2 tsp or less. Definitely keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I grilled 2 lbs of salmon with a little salmon seasoning on top. (Chef Prudhomes) We ate about half of it and I used the left-overs for this chowder. So good. I mean I could eat it everyday! Only other difference is I used about a cup of frozen corn instead of the creamed corn. But that's only b/c it was what I had on hand. I'm sure it would be creamier with the creamed corn. My 7 year old daughter even raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Skip cheese, use frozen salmon, add red bell pepper, scallions, basil, and parsley. Could use a little heat next time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I followed recipe exactly. Took a LOT longer to make than stated. BOO! I Love Smoked Salmon and this was very smoked salmony we just didn't like it. It tastes exactly as described a smokey salmon chowder. It's not the recipe posters fault it's just our taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly (no changes or swaps). When it was done, all I could taste was canned salmon. Not just salmon -- but CANNED salmon (and I used a brand name -- Chicken of the Sea). I made it for some friends and I was SO embarrased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was really good.Made it according to the recipe but I added a little bit of cayenne pepper for depth. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vemfinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Lovely favor. I made the following small changes: sweet potato for potato, no corn, and light coconut milk (Thai) for milk, More specifically for the ingredients used: Unsalted butter, white sweet onion, mixed pepper corns, a coarse mediterranean sea salt and I have used both a previously cooked Copper River Coco baked in dill and a smoked Coco salmon on another occasion. Served with a crusty French bread and a green salad it makes a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States