Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I liked this recipe but my husband didn't. Otherwise I would have given it 4stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Great way to use left over fish from dinner before. I used 1% milk because that was all I had on hand and turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is my favorite salmon chowder so far; I've been searching for a really great recipe and a lot of them are too "fishy." I used 3 fresh salmon fillets (about 4 oz each) instead of canned but otherwise followed the directions. The soup was wonderful. My whole family (including 3 kids) loved it and normally they don't like fish or soup for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Great recipe! I made some modifications based on what I had on hand/the advice of others - used about 1 cup chicken broth + about 1.5-2 cups 2% milk (we're lactose intolerant and so this worked well for us). Added in 1 cup carrots with the celery and potatoes, and used real garlic and frozen corn kernels. Very tasty - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This was surprisingly good! I used frozen fillets as that was what I had. Skipped the cheddar and replaced with sprinkling of Parmesan. Wished I had added more corn though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Thanks Kenulia bit this was just OK for us. Following the advise of another reviewer I chose to omit the cheese which we normally would not include in a salmon chowder anyway. I used a fresh minced clove of garlic and fresh salmon in place of the garlic powder and canned salmon. If I make this again I would use less creamed corn because even with fresh salmon it seemed to overpower the dish. We thought it made it taste more like a corn chowder with a little salmon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Very good recipe that produced a nice chowder. I decided to swap fennel for the celery as a change of pace. Would suggest using fresh dill,and more gaclic powder to pick up the pices some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartsdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This chowder was so good! I did make a few changes to it. Used fresh salmon instead of canned, doubled the dill weed because I love it, and added some liquid smoke to the chowder as well. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Yum! I would recommend absolutely buying the boneless, skinless cans of salmon. One of my cans had the skin and bones. What a pain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I added some diced bacon to the saucepan to cook first before melting the butter, and this addition was perfect. I also used a can of cream of chicken soup, and 1 1/2 (soup) cans of milk instead of the evaporated milk. Substituted frozen corn instead of the creamed corn. Used fresh minced garlic instead of powder. Used leftover barbecued salmon from an earlier dinner instead of canned. Left out the cheese entirely. My family devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States