Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was really good.Made it according to the recipe but I added a little bit of cayenne pepper for depth. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vemfinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Lovely favor. I made the following small changes: sweet potato for potato, no corn, and light coconut milk (Thai) for milk, More specifically for the ingredients used: Unsalted butter, white sweet onion, mixed pepper corns, a coarse mediterranean sea salt and I have used both a previously cooked Copper River Coco baked in dill and a smoked Coco salmon on another occasion. Served with a crusty French bread and a green salad it makes a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Yum! Made minor changes - more carrots and celery to get some more veg. Skim milk for the evaporated milk. Frozen salmon filets that I had baked ~ 1/2 way for the canned salmon. Didn't really measure the cheese, but suspect I used less. Froze in individual servings for work lunch to reheat in the microwave. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I don't eat seafood, so I can't comment on this personally, but I made it for my husband and he really liked it a lot (and isn't a big soup fan). I did, however, use fresh salmon (I got the stuff in a can and almost threw up when I opened it because it stunk so bad - and was full of tiny little bones.. and it was NOT the cheap stuff). I also didn't use onions because my husband loathes them, and used minced garlic instead of powdered.I also used a bit less cheese than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
delicious, my family and friends love it when I make this soup! =) easy and super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Globitoya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Fantastic! This recipe is nearly flawless and I make it often. Always use fresh salmon. I prefer a bit less dill. The carrots don't offend me as much as some others, but I love carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I really thought this was tasty! I also tweaked it a little b/c I didn't have evaporated milk in my pantry, so I used heavy cream instead. I didn't use as much cheese. Also, I used a bag of frozen stew veggies (all the same as listed in recipe). All stuff I had on hand and still tasted delish. I served it with cheesy garlic bread! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Pretty good recipe, I used fresh salmon over canned salmon by adding it alongside the onions. The end product was very good, but next time I would use less cheese. The end product was so rich and heavy that it was hard to eat very much. Also next time I would cut potatos much finer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was truly a hit with my family! I used fresh salmon (just cut in chunks and add to the simmer), fresh garlic, shredded carrot ( a handful, which I added to the saute), double the dill and added about 1/2 cup white wine, basil, parsley and chives. Used a Mexican blend cheese (1 cup) and served with Cheddar Bay biscuits and a salad. Definitely plan on making this meal again. Leftovers were delicious as well. Thank you KENULIA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
With the exception of not using canned salmon, (I used frozen filets from Sam's, that I baked at 350 degrees from thawed for about 12 minutes), I made this recipe pretty much as written. I thought it was great! I think this might be equally good with shrimp. Update: It gets better after a day in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States