Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I really thought this was tasty! I also tweaked it a little b/c I didn't have evaporated milk in my pantry, so I used heavy cream instead. I didn't use as much cheese. Also, I used a bag of frozen stew veggies (all the same as listed in recipe). All stuff I had on hand and still tasted delish. I served it with cheesy garlic bread! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Pretty good recipe, I used fresh salmon over canned salmon by adding it alongside the onions. The end product was very good, but next time I would use less cheese. The end product was so rich and heavy that it was hard to eat very much. Also next time I would cut potatos much finer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was truly a hit with my family! I used fresh salmon (just cut in chunks and add to the simmer), fresh garlic, shredded carrot ( a handful, which I added to the saute), double the dill and added about 1/2 cup white wine, basil, parsley and chives. Used a Mexican blend cheese (1 cup) and served with Cheddar Bay biscuits and a salad. Definitely plan on making this meal again. Leftovers were delicious as well. Thank you KENULIA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
With the exception of not using canned salmon, (I used frozen filets from Sam's, that I baked at 350 degrees from thawed for about 12 minutes), I made this recipe pretty much as written. I thought it was great! I think this might be equally good with shrimp. Update: It gets better after a day in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I liked this recipe but my husband didn't. Otherwise I would have given it 4stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Great way to use left over fish from dinner before. I used 1% milk because that was all I had on hand and turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is my favorite salmon chowder so far; I've been searching for a really great recipe and a lot of them are too "fishy." I used 3 fresh salmon fillets (about 4 oz each) instead of canned but otherwise followed the directions. The soup was wonderful. My whole family (including 3 kids) loved it and normally they don't like fish or soup for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Great recipe! I made some modifications based on what I had on hand/the advice of others - used about 1 cup chicken broth + about 1.5-2 cups 2% milk (we're lactose intolerant and so this worked well for us). Added in 1 cup carrots with the celery and potatoes, and used real garlic and frozen corn kernels. Very tasty - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This was surprisingly good! I used frozen fillets as that was what I had. Skipped the cheddar and replaced with sprinkling of Parmesan. Wished I had added more corn though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Thanks Kenulia bit this was just OK for us. Following the advise of another reviewer I chose to omit the cheese which we normally would not include in a salmon chowder anyway. I used a fresh minced clove of garlic and fresh salmon in place of the garlic powder and canned salmon. If I make this again I would use less creamed corn because even with fresh salmon it seemed to overpower the dish. We thought it made it taste more like a corn chowder with a little salmon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States