Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Super yummy! Used 1 14 oz can red salmon and 2% canned milk--family loved it! Was easy and tasted like it came from a fine restaurant. Even better a day or two later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Amazing soup. We went ahead and made a double recipe using fresh garlic and two thawed pkgs of frozen salmon from Aldi ripped into shreds right into the pot. They sell it for about $4 a lb there, not so expensive. We omitted the carrots but added frozen roasted corn at the end from Trader Joes and it was one of the best soups we have made. The corn gave it a nice texture. The leftovers freeze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Our new favorite, but, of course, with our own twists. We used fresh salmon---the only way to go, and fresh corn from our garden. It's nice to add a touch of cayenne as well. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Delish!!!! My new favorite soup. (Admittedly I modified it to what was in the fridge. Left out the cheddar cheese and used 1/2 cup milk, 1/4 cup heavy cream, and 2 tablespoons more of butter and a regular can of corn instead of the creamed corn. I also used fresh Chum salmon since they are so plentiful this year. Turned out AMAZING!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Very Good!!! Used Fresh Salmon..did not have evaporated milk...used half milk and half and half, fresh garlic...would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
The base (?) is amazing. So creamy and delicious. I made the mistake of keeping the skin on because I didn't want to wast anything. Huge mistake. The salmon skin made the soup way to "fishy". I really like fish but keeping the skin on made the smell too strong. I feel like the broth would work very well with chicken and dumplings as well. Will make smaller portions next time so I don't get sick of it. Almost forgot, this soup doesn't keep well-you can't freeze it because there's milk in it and even kept in the fridge the milk begins to separate after 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I followed this to a t. Needs more corn, more seasoning to taste but absolutely delish either way. This is just my preference. I served 4 people they all loved it. I will make this again. I will get the salmon that already comes deboned and skinned. Pickng the bones out was a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vickiwht
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I prepared this dish for my family this evening and they liked it a lot. It is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was superb. I used celery salt instead of celery, doubled the potatoes and halved the salmon (used smoked). Also used regular corn (not creamed) and only a handful of cheese, just enough until it got creamy. Disappeared in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Wonderful! We left the cheese out per other reviews suggestions and it turned out great. Even my 2 yr old cleaned his bowl :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States