Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was very good. Changes I made were minor...used about a lb of fresh salmon instead of canned, fresh dill instead of dried, and half a can of creamed corn, half a can of regular (drained). Thanks so much for a chowder recipe that deviates from the heavy cream recipes (not that I don't love cream, just nice to have something a little healthier)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by plushflower
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made it but I used fresh salmon and I seasoned it with ms dash then I used a little extra broth and two cans of cream corn. I served it with king Hawaiian bread it was sooooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
After suffering a injury to my face and having to eat soft foods for awhile, I got SO SICK of cream of wheat and bland soup. I set out on a search for the perfect salmon stew, and boy howdy, this was the perfect base for it. I omitted the canned salmon, cheese and evaporated milk, and I used fresh salmon and fresh garlic. The only other thing I did differently was I deglazed with white wine (thank you, previous commenters!) after the vegetables were sautéed, and then I used heavy cream instead of evaporated milk. After the vegetables were very soft (probably softer than necessary, but a must for my poor broken bones) I added the raw salmon, a little liquid smoke, approximately two tablespoons of freshly grated Asiago cheese and a very small amount of roux for thickening. After maybe thirty or fort-five minutes at a soft simmer, this was absolute perfection to my taste buds. I cannot get enough of this goodness. Thank you so much to the original poster for sharing, and thank you to all of the commenters who shared their variation of this dish. It will forever be a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Excellent chowder. Used fresh salmon that I poached in the microwave first (easy way to do fish) and used minced garlic instead of powder. Will definitely try again and will try adding some sun-dried tomatoes next time as suggested for colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Our family really enjoys this chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This is my second time with this recipe. I used fresh salmon instead of canned and its wonderful. I have only just taken up cooking for fun and am eager to try new recipes. My wife and I had a Salmon Chowder at Hell's Gate on the Fraser River in Canada about 35 years ago. We never thought anything would recreate that wonderful soup. But this does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
So delicious and easy! I followed the recipe exactly, including using two large cans of salmon. My suggestion is to empty the cans of salmon in a bowl and pick out the large spine bones. The small bones cook nicely so that you don't notice them and provide extra protein. I won't be making this frequently, because it's not exactly healthy, but I will make it occasionally when we're craving some comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Really good! Shortened the process by starting with Cream of Potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Very easy to make & a hearty supper on a cold night. I used non-fat canned milk & left out the cheese to cut fat content. I used left over grilled salmon filets so the protein contentvwas high. My husband actually told me he would eat this as often as I wanted to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Had to make a few changes - used fresh salmon and fresh garlic... added some shrimp & minced clam and used lactose-free milk instead of evaporated since I can't have anything with lactose, and I'm pretty sure I didn't' use anything close to 1/2 a pound of cheese... but otherwise kept the recipe as is. Very happy with the taste - will certainly make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van Buren, Maine, USA
Living In: Hampden, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States