Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Definitely will be making this again. I used fresh garlic, fresh salmon filet (broiled in the oven the day before with olive oil, sea salt n garlic). Also omited the carrots as others suggested and no corn. I used two 14 oz cans of broth, used sea salt and a couple dashes of creole seasoning, added extra celery,and stirred in a capful of liquid smoke at the end. It was so good. I served with sourdough bread and sprinkled red pepper flakes in my bowl for an extra kick. I was full after one bowl so had to use willpower not to back for more. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Awesome recipe! Made it for a Packer game and was loved by all! I made a triple batch but cut way back on the cheese because my husband and daughter are lactose sensitive. Used pepper jack to add a little heat and a little cheddar. I had uncooked frozen salmon that I added and fresh corn that I cut off the cob. Will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Olson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Mary E Maldonado
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Yes it turn out so good! I add some of my touches, like bacon, baby sea scallops and potatoes. And made a box of Red Lobster Ceddar Bay Biscuit mix to go with the chowder. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary E Maldonado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This was totally delicious. Adapted it based on wanting to use ingredients we already had. Used crab stock, fresh garlic and dill instead of dried, used only 1/2 cup cheddar cheese (that's all we had), used smoked salmon instead of fresh, blended two ears of fresh corn, and substituted a half can of coconut milk for the evaporated milk. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I took the advice of some reviewers and used fresh salmon and fresh garlic. I had some leftover grilled salmon, that was a little dry that I just couldn't throw away. My family also likes things a little on the spicy side, so I followed the recipe as written and used 1 habanero pepper during the saute process, and it provided just the right kick. I also substituted half-n-half for the evaporated milk; hoping to cut out some calories and sweetness from the milk. Lastely, I held the cheddar cheese, only because I didn't have any, it this still turned out AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Easy, healthy & delish! My family loved this, especially MARNZ01's suggested changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hotinthekitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Did you ever just read a recipe and know it would be great?! There were substitutions made because of what I had available at home. Great recipe! Gotta do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Really easy to make, taste great , and would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaite Dusthimer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Great recipe ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I thought this was really good and filling.. My non salmon liking hubby thought it was just okay and my son was not crazy about it either... I will not make again only because they didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States