Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Very easy to make & a hearty supper on a cold night. I used non-fat canned milk & left out the cheese to cut fat content. I used left over grilled salmon filets so the protein contentvwas high. My husband actually told me he would eat this as often as I wanted to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Had to make a few changes - used fresh salmon and fresh garlic... added some shrimp & minced clam and used lactose-free milk instead of evaporated since I can't have anything with lactose, and I'm pretty sure I didn't' use anything close to 1/2 a pound of cheese... but otherwise kept the recipe as is. Very happy with the taste - will certainly make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van Buren, Maine, USA
Living In: Hampden, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I used 10 oz. of fresh salmon instead of canned, can of plain corn not creamed, and reduced the pepper to about 1/4 t. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I don't recommend using canned salmon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Super yummy! Used 1 14 oz can red salmon and 2% canned milk--family loved it! Was easy and tasted like it came from a fine restaurant. Even better a day or two later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Amazing soup. We went ahead and made a double recipe using fresh garlic and two frozen and then thawed pkgs of frozen salmon from Aldi ripped into shreds right into the pot. They sell it for about $4 a lb there, so not so expensive. We omitted the carrots but added frozen roasted corn at the end from Trader Joes and it was one of the best soups we have made. The corn gave it a nice texture. The leftovers freeze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Our new favorite, but, of course, with our own twists. We used fresh salmon---the only way to go, and fresh corn from our garden. It's nice to add a touch of cayenne as well. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Delish!!!! My new favorite soup. (Admittedly I modified it to what was in the fridge. Left out the cheddar cheese and used 1/2 cup milk, 1/4 cup heavy cream, and 2 tablespoons more of butter and a regular can of corn instead of the creamed corn. I also used fresh Chum salmon since they are so plentiful this year. Turned out AMAZING!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Very Good!!! Used Fresh Salmon..did not have evaporated milk...used half milk and half and half, fresh garlic...would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
The base (?) is amazing. So creamy and delicious. I made the mistake of keeping the skin on because I didn't want to wast anything. Huge mistake. The salmon skin made the soup way to "fishy". I really like fish but keeping the skin on made the smell too strong. I feel like the broth would work very well with chicken and dumplings as well. Will make smaller portions next time so I don't get sick of it. Almost forgot, this soup doesn't keep well-you can't freeze it because there's milk in it and even kept in the fridge the milk begins to separate after 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States