Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This was totally delicious. Adapted it based on wanting to use ingredients we already had. Used crab stock, fresh garlic and dill instead of dried, used only 1/2 cup cheddar cheese (that's all we had), used smoked salmon instead of fresh, blended two ears of fresh corn, and substituted a half can of coconut milk for the evaporated milk. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I took the advice of some reviewers and used fresh salmon and fresh garlic. I had some leftover grilled salmon, that was a little dry that I just couldn't throw away. My family also likes things a little on the spicy side, so I followed the recipe as written and used 1 habanero pepper during the saute process, and it provided just the right kick. I also substituted half-n-half for the evaporated milk; hoping to cut out some calories and sweetness from the milk. Lastely, I held the cheddar cheese, only because I didn't have any, it this still turned out AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Easy, healthy & delish! My family loved this, especially MARNZ01's suggested changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hotinthekitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Did you ever just read a recipe and know it would be great?! There were substitutions made because of what I had available at home. Great recipe! Gotta do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Really easy to make, taste great , and would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaite Dusthimer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Great recipe ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I thought this was really good and filling.. My non salmon liking hubby thought it was just okay and my son was not crazy about it either... I will not make again only because they didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I did not change a thing, even the 4 & 5 year old grand children loved it??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was so good! We are spending the summer as camp hosts in an RV park in Kenai, AK. Salmon is plentiful. I made this chowder tonight and had our new friends over. Really was a hit. Some crusty French bread, good conversation, and some good Alaskan beer made this meal centerpiece a memorable event. I did change up the recipe a bit. Cut the cheese in half, used 2 cups of fresh baked salmon, added 1/3 cup clam juice and 1/2 cup half & half. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Loved this!! I used smoked salmon since I had it. I only used a 1/4 c of cheese, added a little chili flakes and added marjoram (I didn't have dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States