Salmon Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Made this with leftover grilled king salmon for a summer solstice fish competition and got second place! I threw some alder chips in while grilling for just a hint of smokey flavor and used Vidalia onion instead of green onion. Toasted the walnuts after chopping them up. Looks very pretty and tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This wasn't as good as I was hoping, but I think the result was my fault, not the recipe's. I mixed everything in the food processor (doubled the recipe and used 12 oz canned pink salmon + 3 oz smoked salmon). I think the texture was just too smooth, and I couldn't get it to roll into a ball. After a day, I added some whole capers, minced red onion and parsley, which improved it greatly. I'll give this another try and play with it a little. Definitely worth revisiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I used smoked salmon in this recipe because I prefer its taste and texture to canned salmon. This is an easy and tasty prep-ahead appetizer for any event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I have been looking for this for years. I used to make this all the time then I lost it . I use chicken in the biscuit to dip it with. That is what the old recipe has said to do. The only thing that the original didn't have in it was the hot pepper sauce and the worcestershire sauce. Love this. Thanks again for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I made this recipe as written. It was too bland for me. So to create a spread for our french bread I added to it. First I used a fresh salmon fillet(I don't like canned fish) that I seasoned with seasoned salt and rosemary garlic from Tone's and baked it 15 minutes. I used all the ingredents listed on this recipe but increased the Worcestershire to 3 T PLUS i tsp. seasoned salt, 1T granulated garlic,1 tsp.Old Bay Seasoning,1/4 tsp celery seed and 1 tsp white sugar. And it was great! My 17 yr old granddaughter said it 'sounds gross' but she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this for New Years Eve. I thought it would be a great snack after we returned home and it was!We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Best salmon cheese ball recipe ever!! Everyone loves this when I bring to holiday gatherings. It always gets eaten up the quickest. Children and adults alike. The only thing I change is using almond slices instead of chopped walnuts. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SassyMomOf4Boys
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Pretty good, could have used much more of a kick. Next time, I might try doubling the amount of horseradish. Serving size doesn't lie. I made this full size recipe for 6 people and had waaaay too many leftovers (more than half)! Tastes good on baguette slices. I also tried it as a sandwich with a thick layer of horseradish and arugula - could make great entertaining tea sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Tasted great! Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Love this recipe. My mom always made this for holiday parties and it always vanished fast. It's always the first thing I think of when I need to bring something for a potluck. We serve it with Triscuits and Chicken and Biscuit crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States