Salmon Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was so delicious! I have to agree with the other commenter - I think it was too much salt. I understand that ceviche has to be salty to keep bacteria from growing, but this was pucker-your-mouth salty. Maybe just use 1 1/2 tbsp. instead of 2 1/2? That being said, this was a fantastic ceviche, very tasty. The fish "cooked" up just fine, and it was so easy to make. We used tilapia since it was cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Great recipe! Thank you:) As stated in previous review the salt is out of proportion. I used the reviewers recommend 1/8 -1/4 tsp sea salt and Old El Paso Guacamole Mix for more kick and found it to be absolutley divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CreativeCook
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made the recipe exactly EXCEPT used only 1/2 teaspoon salt, doubled the chili paste to 1 teaspoon and halved the olive oil (2 Tablespoons). It was perfect over spring mix salad greens and makes four one-cup servings. Definitely a keeper with great flavor. Hopefully everyone knows not to put as much salt as the recipe calls for or that will ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Love it, but way too much salt. Is it a typo? Found I could use almost defrosted wild salmon so have ready in freezer all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I've got a hunch that the first 2 ingredients got swapped, and should instead be 1/4 tsp salt and 2 1/2 tbsp sugar. I did it this way, and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
The hardest part of this recipe is the four hours you have to wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I only give this 4 stars because I don't think salmon is a good choice of fish to use in ceviche. It was just a bit heavy and meaty for my taste. I have used a very similar recipe with tilapia and pollock resulting in a more delicate dish. This recipe is very good and I wouldn't hesitate to use a lighter fish with it. Unlike others, I found the salt content perfectly acceptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PandaCurry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Belview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Be very careful with this recipe. I really think the uploader meant to put teaspoon instead of tablespoon, either way I cut the salt in half and it still was extremely salty. I added mango, peach and bell pepper as that is what the ceviche's I've had in the past used and it helped to absorb the salt. All in all it's a great combination of flavors but the salt is overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made this a second time and reversed the sugar and salt quantities. AWESOME. Definitely a new favorite. I did salt to taste a little at the End to really make the flavors pop. But this is a fantastic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
The taste of the salmon was too overpowering and fishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LordGary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maryland Heights, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States