Salmon Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Overall a great recipe: easy to follow, uses few ingredients which are all on hand, and tastes good. I made a few modifications: I doubled the recipe, I drained the canned salmon, I should have drained the grated onions (next time, I will finely chop them instead), used 2 eggs, 3 tablespoons of flour, 3 slices of bread (depending on the liquidity of your mixture, you can play around with quantity of flour and bread), used a lot less olive oil (enough to generously cover the bottom of the pan), and cooked medium high heat for 8 minutes total. Thanks Donna for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Great recipe whole family loved it, they never had salmon before. One change was I used panko breadcrumbs instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I liked that this recipe was very simple. Like others, I drained the salmon into a bowl and only used a 2 tablespoons for the liquid. Because I am counting calroies, I used wheat gem instead of flour. I did not add the flour to the mixture but instead used the wheat germ as a coating after the patties were formed. This is a very healthy option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I loved this, the only thing I did different was I added some parsley, sauteed garlic and the onions, and added a little bit of old bay seasoning. Super yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
My husband is southern, and he said his mama made the best salmon cakes he's ever had. I tried your recipe last night and he devoured them. He had four for dinner and wanted to take the leftovers for his lunch the next day. I followed the directions exactly and at first I thought they were going to fall apart in the pan, but after I made my patties I put them in the fridge to set up for about 10 minutes and then put them in the hot oil. They turned out perfectly. Crispy and golden brown on the outside and moist and flavorful on the inside. They were delicious. I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
hubby caught the salmon I cook it for him he loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Trujillo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
loved it with added seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I made this yesterday for today's lunch and ate the pattie on a bed of arugula and spinach leaves, topped with cilantro salad dressing from Trader Joes. Yummy! I followed the recipe to the T, but my salmon mixture did end up too runny. I added about 1/2 C of Panko and I suppose you could add another 1/2 slice - 1 slice of Ezekiel bread. I was able to make 6 patties, but the first two that I tried to fry fell apart while frying. I took these out of the skillet and ate the mixture with crackers. Definitely recommend baking the patties in the oven on 350 degrees for 15 minutes on each side, for a total of 30 minutes baking time. My turned out perfect! A keeper & healthy recipe. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
It was great, except I took the advice of another and used 2 eggs instead of 1, 1/2 C. Panko Bread Crumbs, a little Spring Onions, about 1/3 C. Shredded Mexican Cheese and 1 T. of Old Bay Seasoning. Also, always drain anything with liquid in it, including Salmon. If I cook cans of Canned Foods, I'll rinse off the sodium as well and cook in regular water with seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Made these for my dad and they came out perfect. I used 1/3 cup Olive oil for the frying. They were nice and crispy on the outside but tender inside. Will fix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Flavorful and scrumptious salmon cakes.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States