Salmon Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Delicious! I used 2 eggs to help it bind, a bit more hot sauce and worcestershire sauce, about 1/2 Tbs. Old Bay, a squeeze of lemon juice and dusted with Parmesan cheese. Sprayed foil with cooking spray and did these under the broiler for about 10-12 minutes, flipping about halfway through. Made a dipping sauce of about a 1/2 c light mayo, 1 Tbs sour cream, 1 tsp. Old Bay, 1 tsp horseradish cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
We LOVED this recipe! I didn'tsubbed onion powder for the onions, and I also subbed dried parsley. I tripled the recipe and my 13 year old who doesnt like fish said she likes it. It is very delicious.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrsmiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Liberty, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
These were awesome! Instead of an onion I used onion powder, because I didn't want pieces of onion in it, and it turned out fine. Also used dried parsley instead of fresh. Also didn't use any butter, just olive oil. And I followed others suggestions and dusted with parmesan cheese instead of flour. I doubled the recipe and came out with about 12 patties. Served with aoili sauce, mashed potatoes, and salad. Husband LOVED IT! Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Awesome salmon cake recipe. I know the review should be made after trying the recipe as is but I didn't have any worcestershire sauce and had to improvise. The recipe is a fantastic building block. I used salmon filets that I cooked with lemon, olive oil and some garlic then flaked for the cakes. I also used some white wine and garlic powder to make up for the missing worcestershire. I only used extra virgin olive oil to cook the cakes. Yummy! These cakes don't need any condiments as they are quite tastey as they are and left-over cakes make a good sandwich. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Simple and absolutely delicious! Thank You for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I substituted crushed Ritz crackers for the bread crumbs... added diced red and green bell peppers.. and increased the egg amount.. Everything else was followed as written. Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
These were delicious! I have tried many salmon cake recipes and these by far have been my family's favorite. I added an extra dash of black pepper, an extra egg, 4 squirts of lemon juice, 3 cloves of garlic minced. I omitted the hot sauce so my little boys would eat them and didn't coat with flour. I baked at 375 for 20 minutes each side, perfection! I also made a dipping sauce that another reviewer reccomended: 1tbsp of dijon to 2 tbsp mayo, delish! Thank you for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Buppert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
These salmon Patties were good and easy to make. I think you don't need that much butter and oil but other than that, it was a good recipe. Ks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Great! Easy and filling for a quick weeknight dinner. I followed the advice of other reviews and used Parm instead of cheddar, and Ritz instead of breadcrumbs. The flavor was fantastic. I only removed the really obvious bone pieces from the canned salmon (used wild Alaskan) and it was so flavorful. A tad salty, but I think that's b/c the canned salmon has salt already added. Next time, I will use 2 eggs and they were a smidge dry and fell apart a little in the pan. But GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Bones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I'll start by saying "I hate fish of any variety" but my family likes it and I know I should eat it, so I keep trying. For fish, these were good, not fishy tasting and no weird textures. My kids loved them and I think they would be great on a bun with burger fixings, similar to a veggie burger. I did use the extra egg which did help it hold together pretty good. I tried some with parmesan cheese coating and some with flour, once cooked, I really couldn't tell the difference as far as taste or texture. I also used italian bread crumbs because that is what I had on hand. I will be adding these to our regular menu and maybe trying to find a good sauce to go along with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States