Salmon Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I used Panko bread crumbs, just a dash of cayenne pepper in place of hot sauce and half the butter and two more TBS of olive oil, medium heat 5 minutes both sides and perfect! I made 8 cakes and my husband ate 4 in one setting! Served with mashed potatoes and garden canned corn which equaled out to the perfect southern home cooked meal!! Will definitely make again and my southern cooking mother will now too! Been making salmon cakes for years and this was the perfect variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I use a few heaping tablespoons of cornmeal fish fry --like Louisiana brand--instead of cracker crumbs. Tastes better and holds together better. Better for frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
These were excellent! I didn't chill them as long as directed, but they held together well. Next time I am going to try baking them instead. I also served them with the sauce recommended by another reviewer: 2 TBSP mayo & 1TBSP Dijon mustard. Very yummy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this just as written. The outside was crispy and did hold together. That is the only good thing I can say. The inside was mushy and spongy and the only flavor was of onion. I am cranky that I didn't notice how 99% of the reviews changed the recipe significantly. I would not make this as written again, and don't want to try to mess with it to make it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I am currently eating a gluten free diet. I substituted gluten free breadcrumbs and used coconut flour instead of white flour. These were great. Helped me to use up leftover salmon and made a great meal! For a quick sauce I used a little chipotle ranch dressing diluted with coconut milk and warmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
We really, really liked this. Based on other reviews, I used a combo of flour and Parmesan cheese as the coating and I baked at 375 for 12 mins then broiled for a couple minutes on each side to brown them up. made a really quick sauce using mayo, horse radish, Dijon mustard and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My husband loved these and said they had a lot of flavor. I substituted onion powder for the onion, crushed Club Crackers for the bread crumbs, and grated Parmesan cheese for the flour for a little extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
My daughter loved these. We put honey mustard dipping sauce from this site over the top after serving. Will make again! Next time, I will try making with oats and oat flour to make gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The best salmon cakes (or patties as we call them) that I've had so far! These are so easy and completely redeemed salmon patties for me. Even when I get lazy and use seasoning instead of an actual onion it's still good. My sister also "hates salmon patties," and I was surprised when I looked over and saw a clean plate without ketchup smears. I'd say it's a keeper in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laliad5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Super easy and delicious. Family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States