Salmon Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
GREAT recipe. My first time making anything like this. I just did a few tweaks. I used 1 small can of Wild Alaska Pink and 1 small can of Wild Alaska Sockeye (I think they are like 6 ounces?). This added richness in flavor and appearance. Mine needed 2 eggs to hold together, and instead of bread crumbs I used some crushed melba toasts. Dried parsley was fine, and I followed others' suggestion of parmesan cheese on the outside instead of flour. One more thing: I went to get my cheddar cheese from the grocery store salad bar and since it was what that had, I used half blue cheese and half cheddar. yums! Finally, I patted out the cakes on Thursday but didn't get to cook them until Saturday. I don't know how much this influenced the flavor, but they were definitely delicious! To cook, I browned both sides of the cakes in an ovenproof skillet in only olive oil and then finished warming them through in a 375 degreen oven for about 10 minutes. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Absolutely loved it! Went with the extra egg option as well as the parm in lieu of the flour! My gf hates fish and she devoured them, she even ate most of mine. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chandice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
followed the recipe exactly except didn't have any hot sauce on hand. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly6288

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I used red onion instead and made into sandwiches. Great great great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
The cheese really puts a new flavor to an old recipe. Used a bit more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
My family really enjoyed these Salmon cakes. They said they had a really nice flavor and they liked the crispy outside/soft inside texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good. Used fresh salmon. used Ranch dressing for dipping. Added parm cheese as someone else recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I know a good salmon patty when I see one, but these are GREAT! Follow the advice of 1 extra egg, roll in parmesian cheese, add red pepper flakes to taste, Panko instead of bread crumbs-DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Tapps, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These were really good and the kids liked them too! I think the portions are a little off-I got six nicely sized patties. Also, I used packaged bread crumbs, so I added an extra egg to keep it together, but that may not have been necessary. An easy and inexpensive way to get more fish in your family's diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Nice recipe. After mixing the ingredients, discovered it definitely needs another egg as a binder. Also, followed the recipe on half of the patties and the other half I coated with parmesan instead of flour. These held together much better when transferring from plate to pan, but I didn't notice a big flavor difference. I actually didn't know which were which on the serving platter and couldn't easily identify a difference. Next time I'll try baking as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Flavorful and scrumptious salmon cakes.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States