Salmon Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good. Used fresh salmon. used Ranch dressing for dipping. Added parm cheese as someone else recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I know a good salmon patty when I see one, but these are GREAT! Follow the advice of 1 extra egg, roll in parmesian cheese, add red pepper flakes to taste, Panko instead of bread crumbs-DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Tapps, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These were really good and the kids liked them too! I think the portions are a little off-I got six nicely sized patties. Also, I used packaged bread crumbs, so I added an extra egg to keep it together, but that may not have been necessary. An easy and inexpensive way to get more fish in your family's diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Nice recipe. After mixing the ingredients, discovered it definitely needs another egg as a binder. Also, followed the recipe on half of the patties and the other half I coated with parmesan instead of flour. These held together much better when transferring from plate to pan, but I didn't notice a big flavor difference. I actually didn't know which were which on the serving platter and couldn't easily identify a difference. Next time I'll try baking as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These were better than I expected them to be. I used half panko crumbs half Ritz crackers for the bread crumbs. I also took the advice of another reviewer and wet the mixture with some of the salmon water from the can since it was pretty dry. For the sauce I made the mayo/dijon sauce that was recommended and I feel like it was necessary for this dish. My whole family liked this so it was a success! FOR MY OWN INFO NEXT TIME: I made 1.5 times the dijon sauce this time and it was too much. Stick with the first reviewer's recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Great way to use canned salmon! I changed only a few items. Added crumbled bacon & since I didnt have bread crumbs used crackers.. all I had were 'smoked chipotle' crackers. I didn't sprinkle flour on the cakes but used parmesan cheese. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Delicious, but I made a few changes. I used fresh, baked salmon and shredded it. I crushed 12 vegetable ritz crackers instead of the 1/2 cup of bread crumbs. I didn't have hot sauce so I substituted cayenne pepper. I rolled patties in parmesan cheese instead of flour and baked at 375 for 20 min. and then browned in pan for about 2 min. each side. Turned out amazing and we dipped in a mixture of horseradish and sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Great recipe! I made it exactly as shown and it turned out fantastic! Instead of using flour I coated them with crushed Ritz cracker crumbs then baked in the oven as other reviewers did, just to make them a bit more healthy. I doubled the recipe and used a half cup measure to make the patties and I got 8 patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Just wanted to say that these were really good. Thlanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These were really good but I did change it up. I added 1/4 cup shredded carrots, 2 tablespoons dried chives, a little garlic, a tablespoon lemon juice, and a 1/4 cup creme cheese. After everything was added it made 10 fair sized cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States