Salmon Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Excellent! The potatoes make the patties creamy. Because of the reviews, I only put in one potato so I could still taste the salmon. I also added a chopped onion for flavor. Make sure you chop it really fine so it doesn't interrupt the creamy texture. Also, you don't need that much oil. I just put in enough to coat the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
Overall very tasty! But 5 large potatoes is too much. We could barely taste the salmon b/c the potatoe over-powered the overall taste. I would use only 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KICKCHICK99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This was actually quite good. But I did tweak it a little. Gotta have onions in a salmon cake! I added a small, finely chopped onion and some parsley, and coated the cakes in cornmeal instead of flour to give it some texture. Yum. Not bland, but a slightly 'muted' salmon flavor. Great w/homemade tarter sauce. I confess I had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
I found this recipe to be very good. I live in an area where pacific salmon is very prevelant and I needed a recipe that would use up the leftovers from my catch of salmon. This was great. My family and I are not the greatest salmon fanciers and enjoyed how this recipe did not have an overpowering taste of salmon. If you like but dont love salmon this is a good recipe, mind you when frying the patties, they absorb a tremedous amount of oil. Make sure you pan is hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Udo Rosenberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
These were very tasty. i made a few changes. i drained all the water from the potatoes and left none. i added about a tsp. of Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing mix to the flour before coating the cakes. Then, i fried them in extra-virgin olive oil. We really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelsjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I tried a variation of this recipe using only one large potato and some matzo meal. Even with that variation, the cakes had too much potato flavor. I find it hard to believe that you're supposed to mix five potatoes to one average-sized can of salmon. Why even bother to add the salmon at all in this recipe? It's simply a waste --- you CAN'T TASTE THE SALMON!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
The patties tasted good, but they would have been even better with less potatoes. It tasted like a potato pattie instead of fish pattie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
The fish cakes did taste nice, but the preparation was a bit of a nightmare. Frying them took ages and also caused some of them to burn, it may take practice, but its not the easiest recipe in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This recipee was very good. I don't like a strong salmon flavor in patties and the potatoes really helped remedy this. I added a little Italian bread crumbs for more flavor and that tasted exellent. I made fairly large patties and I ended up with 14 patties just from one can of salmon. This is definitely a recipee I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
The texture and taste is good but mine didn't stick together when I cooked it. I'm going to have to give it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States