Salmon Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I made this for Easter and everyone loved it! I agree with others in that the potatoes are too much. I had a large group coming so I used 4 potatoes with "two" cans of salmon. I also tweaked it a little and added a little mayo in the mix for creaminess and texture,I also added chopped green onion, and coated with corn meal instead of flour - alot of tweaking I know but the family loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Had these salmon cakes for dinner tonight and they were really good except they need more salt and pepper in the mix. I only used 3 small potatoes and think more would overpower the salmon. I served it with cole slaw and stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Great with some additions. Added minced garlic, onion and breadcrumbs. Coated patties in crushed corn flakes before frying. My kids loved it!! Will definitely make again. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I LOVE this recipe! Something a little different with salmon. This is a mild recipe even the kids will love, there is plenty of room to add whatever type of seasoning you prefer, more salt and pepper, dill, garlic, hot peppers, or as is. It's sticky once mixed, but after dipping in the flour and frying, it becomes a light crispy dish with tender creamy inside, suitable for eating alone as a patty, or on toast or a bun. Extremely versatile and flavorful for the baby or Dad! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I made this tonight. I changed things a bit. Instead of canned salmon,I used some salmon that I had in the freezer, marinated it in a garlic herb marinade and baked it. I didn't use as much potato as the recipe called for. I also added some garlic, onion and dill to the recipe. It was good. Next time I want to make a spicy sauce/salsa to serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
These were very tasty. i made a few changes. i drained all the water from the potatoes and left none. i added about a tsp. of Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing mix to the flour before coating the cakes. Then, i fried them in extra-virgin olive oil. We really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelsjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Very little flavor with the original recipe. Tasty only in the sense that fried things are tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Capistrano Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
The taste was good, but it didn't hold together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
The texture and taste is good but mine didn't stick together when I cooked it. I'm going to have to give it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States