Salmon Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I really didn't care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
great recipe I make a slight change instead of flour I used about 1/4 cup of vegetable thin crackers crushed mix in with the rest and fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe is definitely for people who do not like fish because I could not taste it at all and I only used 1 potato! I'm also very glad I made a tarter sauce since even with the addition of onion and parsley, these tasted very bland and a little dry. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsF412

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were so good! If your patties fall apart, I suggest adding an extra egg or two (I doubled the recipe anyway) and instead of making patties, make balls, roll the balls in flour and flatten with a spatula when you place them in the grease. The ones I did that to were perfect! Hubby and kids made sure there were no leftovers. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Taylor-Giegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Really delicious! I also added one large potato and an onion that was finely diced. I added flour to the ingredients and then spooned it in to a lightly greased pan. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyhmn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I am not a fan of salmon cakes, but with the addition of potatoes I tried it. I did change the original recipe a bit. I used less potatoes and added Old Bay seafood seasoning to the mixture. I chilled the mixture making it easier to form. I coated the patties in a mixture of flour, corn meal and Old Bay. The whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Yum yum! I do recommend adding seasoning to your liking. One thing I think most people are missing is that the recipe calls for a very large can of salmon (14.75 oz). The usual size is only 5 oz. If you use the large size can then 5 potatoes is probably fine. I used 2 potatoes and 2 5 oz. cans of salmon. That ratio was pretty good. I added parsley, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and cayenne. I also added about 1 T milk to help the potatoes stick together, and I used crushed gold fish crackers on the outside instead of flour. I only used 3-4 T oil to fry them. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These were a LOT tastier than I expected, but also more labor intensive. Plus I had to modify the amounts b/c I only had a small can of salmon. So I don't think the texture was quite right, they were extremely hard to make into patties. I ended up adding another egg and some flour just so they would hold together until I turned them. I DID add some minced garlic, onion, jalapeno and cilantro. Yum. Even the kids liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cortland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I was looking for something different and tasty to make with my leftover salmon and this was it!! I used a little less potato as recommended by others and added the onions as others had but I softened them by simmering in the oil for about 15 mins which added excellent taste and consistency as well as adding nice flavor to the oil! I topped them with teriyaki sauce and they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KisstheCookKT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Last minute meal and my kids and husband liked it! They are tough critics with salmon, so the fact they liked it is amazing! I took the suggestion of only using three potatos, and it tasted good. I addd garlic powder, salt, parsley flakes, and onion. I also didn't use flour because I need to cook gluten free, and they held together fine. A good, fast easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States