Salmon Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I used salmon that my Dad caught off the coast of WA and had smoked, so I omitted the salt. Also never got the parsley rolled on...the dip went too fast! Had as an appetizer at Tanksgiving and everyone loved it! Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Machine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I had to substitute Chopped pecans to roll the ball in when I discovered that the Parsley I thought I had was actually cilantro. Other than that, this was pretty good though we prefer the recipes I have used before that add liquid smoke. Next time I will add a half tespoon of liquid smoke. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
My sister always made this also....but she used tuna instead of salmon and rolled it in chopped pecans....she too added the liquid smoke. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I also added a couple teaspoons of liquid smoke, and skipped on the fresh parsley. I made a mixture of panko breadcrumbs, dried parsley and a bit of Old Bay seasoning for the coating. Edit: The cheese ball ends up being mostly salmon to the point that you really can't even tell there's any cheese in it...I even used a couple ounces less salmon than what the recipe calls for. I didn't think it had a whole lot of flavor, even with adding the liquid smoke. I would definitely try again with a leftover fillet or 2 of fresh grilled or baked salmon instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef_fiizeru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
The BIGGEST hit at a Thanksgiving pot-luck at work, then Thanksgiving dinner, then Post-Thanksgiving dinner, then another party later on (you get the idea!). I noticed a lot of people mentioned smoked salmon. For someone who doesn't have the money for a handled smoker, and canned smoked salmon isn't available in the regular grocery stores and is way too expensive in the fancier, Bumblebee's Atlantic Salmon is a pretty flavorful alternative. The leftover (if there is any) hold up very well in the fridge overnight for a second helping the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very Good And went fast at a party but was more of a spread and never would form a ball, and I only used 14.oz can of salmon and 40. oz more of cream cheese. I added 1 tsp oliquid smoe and extra green oninons too. VERY VERY GOOD!! But it was a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This has been a family favorite for YEARS, since I was aboutt 3! We always serve it with triscuits and it's sooo good! Soooo easy! I can't wait to make it for Christmas this year as I haven't had it for a few years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years and often I add liquid smoke. Kicks it up a notch and is a hit with my family and friends. Use 1 to 2 teaspoons according to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Cohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I roll mine in pecans AND fresh parsley. Great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caramia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herminie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe, we also add liquid smoke, and we roll ours in real bacon bits......yummy!! A holiday favorite amongst My Grandma, My Momma ,and now myself!! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States