Salmon and Spinach Fettuccine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Loved this recipe! We are cutting back the bad fats from our diets, so there were some modifications... all successful: I used 2 Tablespoons butter, rather than 4. For milk, I used 1% milk... canned non-fat milk would have been good, too. For the Parmesan cheese, I used the non-fat kind that is sold in a shaker can. I used leftover poached salmon (skin removed), rather than smoked. And, I was out of fresh spinach, so thawed a box of frozen chopped spinach and used it. This tasted so rich, with a wonderful blend of flavors. It is easy to eat low fat foods, when they taste this great! Thanks for sharing the recipe Shane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Good recipe. I'll make this again. I took the suggestion from another poster and added a little cream cheese. I only had skim milk and the sauce wouldn't have been creamy without it. I also used freshly grated parmesan; I wouldn't used the canned stuff. Used about 1 tsp of dried oregano since I didn't have fresh oregano on hand. Baked salmon in the oven rather than using smoked salmon (seasoned with a little olive oil and italian seasoning). Also added some toasted almond slivers (very nice addition!). I would have preferred pine nuts but did not have any. Otherwise, followed the recipe and we were pleased. My husband doesn't like fish so I put very little salmon in his bowl. He actually added more fish! I couldn't believe it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
This recipe really does taste like something you would order at a good restaurant. It was very easy to make. The only thing I would change is to maybe add a little white wine to the sauce. The blend of oregano, capers, & smoked salmon was wonderful. I used fresh oregano from my herb garden & it was perfect. I also used bow tie pasta instead of fettuccine. It was very pretty & would be great to serve to company with a salad & crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I'm so excited to share my experience about this great recipe! I've made it at least 4 times and it only gets better everytime I make it! -Used some of the modifications sugg. by another fan of this recipe, and with some of my own little changes, it is now a perfection! I saute the fresh spinach with some garlic and olive oil along with the sundried tomatoes and italian spices then once that's cooked just enough, I add it to the white sauce. I even used the baby size shrimps instead of the salmon a couple of times and it was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I tried this last night, making a few changes acording to what I had in the cupboards, used fresh fettucine, bit of wine and cream cheese (like the other reviews suggested)I found that the sauce was really thick so I let it down with white wine which added to the flavour! Also I started off by lightly frying a finely chopped small onion & garlic in some of the sundried tomato oil. I must agree, the end result is as good as a restaurant dish! Will definately be making this one again, it is fast, simple and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellytomato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I'm giving this 4 stars because it had really good flavor although I wish it would have specified that you have to simmer the sauce for a LONG time to get the right consistency. Mine was kind of gritty but now I know for next time! I used italian seasoning instead of oregano and diced tomatoes instead of sun-dried. No capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I treked this recipe alot after reading reviews and its a keeper for sure! I used leftover grilled salmon -left out capers -added several cloves of minced garlic - few slices of mushrooms - used 2 tsp oregano -1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes and added about 1/4 cup white wine and squirted fresh lemon juice over it --wow its so good!! - its really a fancy dish! I would like to try the smoked salmon version with capers -probably has alot of different flavor -I really think this dish needs garlic! thanks for sharing this recipe--I will be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Excellent recipe! Great way to use left over salmon steaks. I recommend subsituting cream cheese instead of butter- this is a restaraunt quality recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I grilled a piece of salmon and omitted the flour and milk and used heavy cream instead. I also used 1tsp dried oregano. My husband loved it. I did not try it because I don't like salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Great mix of flavors. I added a dash of onion powder, garlic powder, and used fresh salmon fillets. It was absolutely fabulous. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States