Salmon and Shrimp Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe was so amazing it made me sign up just so I can comment! I was just looking for something to make with what I had and this was close enough. I used a yellow onion instead of red, spicy brown mustard instead of dijon, garlic powder instead of salt, seasoning salt instead of Old Bay, salmon in a can instead of filet, and it came out GREAT! I served it over some fresh cooked spinach and it was perfect! I fell in love the second I made the mayo mixture. Next time I'll use fresh salmon and more panko to make then stick together more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Excellent! My entire family enjoyed the salmon, and my 11-year old son went back for seconds. GH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
These seafood cakes had wonderful flavor. HOWEVER....I must had misunderstood about the "chopped" salmon, because I had a terrible time getting these to stick together in patties. Maybe someone can give me some tips. Thanks for a yummy recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I made the recipe as printed, and my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasheena Green

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
So we tried this recipe tonight and it was awesome!!! I made a few changes though. First I used canned salmon and not the canned that still has the skin and bone on the fish! I used chicken of the sea boneless skinless pink salmon. I used frozen shrimp. Since I used frozen shrimp, I did cook the salmon/shrimp mix like the receipe says in order to cook off the water from the frozen shrimp. I used a frozen precut onion and pepper mix. I doubled the recipe. It worked fine. I used fat free mayonaise. However, I'm not sure if it is the mayonaise that keeps the patty together. Perhaps next time I'll add an egg white to the mix because the patty did fall apart when I flipped it. I used spray oil and butter. everything worked perfect. I will cook this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I used the majority of the recipe. I used yellow onion instead of red, and yellow mustard instead of Dijon and it was still delicious. My son said it was one of the best dishes on his list that I've made. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was pretty good. I broiled it as long as the time said, but it seemed to be bit too soft on the inside. So i cooked it for 7 minutes longer at 350 degrees. After that it seemed fine, and the flavour was good. But due to some of the changes i made i'll be using another recipe for fish cakes. thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittiesRPretty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Very good. The flavor was so much better than canned salmon. I did add a bit of green onion to it because I had it on hand. I served it with a Dill Hollandaise sauce. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Really tasty. Found this recipe as I had one salmon fillet in the house and about 20 shrimp and was not sure where to go from there. The salmon fillet was only 1/2 lb so I used all of the shrimp. I also was low on breadcrumbs and used 1/2 cup of stuffing mix. The shops here (Australia) do not have seafood seasoning so I looked up Old Bay online and threw into the cakes: allspice, mace, paprika, pepper, celery salt, crushed red pepper, ginger, and nutmeg. The one thing I noted was that the 3 tablespoons of butter in the breadcrumbs was a lot and that moisture was enough to stick a lot of it together which left me with about 1/2 of the mustard/mayo mixture and seasoning unused. I would decrease butter in future and use more of the wet mix. The end result was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Great and tasty! Make into smaller cakes and serve with a sour cream dill sauce for a wonderful party appetizer finger food served on colorful picks garnished with radishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States