Salmon and Asparagus with Penne and Light Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Delicious! I, too, added cheese. I probably used twice as much as the recipe called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great flavor and nice dinner. We did have to play with the sauce a bit, as we didn't have heavy cream, only half & half. Following the recipe, the half & half didn't make a very nice-looking sauce, so made another batch of sauce with the half & half, starting off with a butter/flour roux. Mixed the sauces together and it was a great dinner. We were able to cook two 1/2lb salmon fillets in a 12" skillet with one bunch of asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
so the story goes that I had had a successful sushi night the previous weekend. As always, I had some Salmon left over, and to hell with letting good fish go to the way side. I found this recipe and tried it on a whim, as I had most of the supplies on hand. WOW!!! now I did make a few changes, I turned the cream sauce into a cheese sauce adding a little velvetta subb'd in for the milk, as well as the addition of diced onion and Chopped Carrot. I mean, WOWOWOW!!! the Onions and the carrots gave the recipe a beautiful color and did add to the overall flavor. really a Great Fish recipe! Highly recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Great recipe, though I adjusted here and there to reduce the calorie amount, and to work around the recipes I have in hand at home. 1) I didn't have heavy cream nor do I want to use one, I use the reduced fat milk I had in the fridge. When cooking salmon and asparagus, I left out the garlic to make gravy for later use. After I scooped up salmon and asparagus to a warm plate, I added garlic and lightly browned them. Once browned, I added a tablespoon of flour, let it soak up the juice, and when done, I added some white wine, milk and water to thicken the sauce. And when the sauce got thicken, is when I mixed all the rest of the ingredients. Though, I didn't use up the rest of the recipes like cheese, dried dill, or heavy cream, this came out delicious and with whole lots of less calories than what original recipe calls for. Parsley did just fine in replace of dill! I will make this again and again. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Although I used store bought roasted garlic alfredo sauce (Classico) instead of doing the sauce from scratch, I loved loved loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I followed the recipe, but did add extra cheese. My husband, who does not like fish, absolutely loved it. A definite keeper and it would be something I would love to serve to company. The colors and taste were remarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
My husband begs me to make this dish! It is excellent everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Peshl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I used chicken instead of salmon and parsley instead of dill. This dish is amazing!! Making these changes makes it my favorite meal and is great for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
awesome recipe!!! My boyfriend has been begging me to make a salmon dinner but I'm not a huge fan generally. We both loved this dish. The salmon tasted great, and the sauce was fantastic!!! Will definitly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
The flavors in this recipe were good but the proportions and cooking time are off. My salmon fillet was thicker than typical but was almost done when I flipped it and was certainly done less than three minutes later and by then the asparagus was over cooked. I would suggest not adding the asparagus until flipping the salmon - and do that much sooner than called for. Also 1/4 cup olive oil is way too much. I used it but next time would use closer to 1 Tablespoon. And 1 1/2 cups cream yields way too much sauce for the salmon and pasta. I used about 3/4 cup and that was more than enough. As written, the recipe yields an overcooked heavy dish. With some tweaks to make it lighter and fresher it could be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States