Salmon and Asparagus with Penne and Light Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Husband absolutely loved it! Apart from using fresh dill instead of dried, I followed the recipe pretty much exactly. Next time I'll add more Parmesan - 1/4 cup wasn't cheesy enough for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tofine2wine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shediac, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
exelent recipe!!!! only I added more garlic and regular black pepper. Even though the garlic turned blue (because of the lemon juice) and the salmon broke up when I turned it.. but who cares!!!.it all goes doen the same way!!! Next time I will cook the garlic a little before adding the lemon! and maybe cook at a higher heat, less time so the salmon won't break up!!! It was great nevertheless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
The flavors in this recipe were good but the proportions and cooking time are off. My salmon fillet was thicker than typical but was almost done when I flipped it and was certainly done less than three minutes later and by then the asparagus was over cooked. I would suggest not adding the asparagus until flipping the salmon - and do that much sooner than called for. Also 1/4 cup olive oil is way too much. I used it but next time would use closer to 1 Tablespoon. And 1 1/2 cups cream yields way too much sauce for the salmon and pasta. I used about 3/4 cup and that was more than enough. As written, the recipe yields an overcooked heavy dish. With some tweaks to make it lighter and fresher it could be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Dreamy sauce! I doubled for 4 servings, but found that I did not need to double the oil and cream and still had plenty of sauce. I used light cream instead of heavy. (as in the title of the recipe!) Don't skimp on the garlic and lemon--you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. H. Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
We loved this! I was low on ingredients so I typed in what little I did have in the house, and this popped up. I didn't have the cream, though, so I used some jarred Bertolli alfredo sauce instead, and it was still delicious! The salmon and asparagus had wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I had some leftover baked salmon that I wanted to use. I shredded it up and used it in place of the new, fresh salmon. It was fast, turned out delicious, and I didn't have to throw out my salmon. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
OMG 5+ stars! This is the best recipe! Mouth popping flavors. I had fresh salmon, asparagus and wanted to make a pasta dish. I am so glad this recipe was here. The sauce was great! I wanted a thicker sauce, so I added a little flour. This is a keeper. Thank you to twroush02!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I did this a little differently because of what I had on hand. I used zucchini instead of asparagus and I used about 3/4 whole milk with about 1/4 cup light mayo in place of the cream. I also used about 1/3 cup shredded cheddar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was amazing! I didn't have lemons or lemon juice on hand, so I substituted lemonade, and it turned out beautifully! I also added half a package of cream cheese to the sauce to give it a better consistency. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States