Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is an awesome recipe! it is definately down home fat people comfort food so watch your portion size! I made it with just what I had in the fridge so it was a little different. I didn't have enough potatoes, so I used sweet potatoes too -I also used more onions (about 1/3 c), added minced garlic and instead of sour cream I used a combination of Cream cheese, kefir cheese and plain yogurt. Also double the dill. It was savory and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
made it last night and it was a definitely a hit, i added green onions and a lil jack cheesee..will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Left out the butter, left peels on the potatoes, used fresh spinach and fat free cheese. Tasty goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was delicious! I sauteed fresh spinach with a little garlic and onions in a small amount of olive oil rather than using frozen. This gave the potatoes wonderful flavor. I also added a touch of milk after reading one review that thought the potatoes were a little dry. They were perfect. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Made this last night and served with a baked chicken strip recipe from this site. They were wonderful- so nice to make something different, looked fancy with the spinach and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My peeps loved this! (I did cut down the cheddar to save on fat grams) It was still a huge hit! I made salmon w/dill and lemon as well as asparagus w/lemon dill butter...great dinner! thnx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Laveen, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I almost entirely eliminated the sour cream and used 1/2 and 1/2. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hipchickrecords

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I make great mashed potatoes, but I wanted to jazz them up. Tried this recipe, not knowing if my husband would like it. I knew my sons would. To my suprise, he loved them. YAY!! The only changes I made were to add 1/2 c cream of mushroom soup, 1/4 cup of sour cream and I topped with freshed grated extra sharp cheese. My son takes his lunch to school and he told me he was hoping the potatoes were in his lunch today. Maybe tomorrow :-) Thanks Sally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very good dish. I didn't include the dill so I put garlic powder in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Too much sour cream! I'm Polish and when a Pole says too much sour cream, it's too much. LOL! I'll be cutting that back to 1/4 c or 2 TBSP. I am not a fan of dill and followed a previous commenter's advice and subbed bacon (!) instead. I also added a smidge of chopped onion and cut down on the butter. I know my family, I also halved the spinach. It's a good starting point to shape into your own vision and I plan to tinker with this. It's a nice change of pace from ordinary mashed pots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New England Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States