Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I really wanted to like these. They were not flavorful or creamy. I used Wisconsin sharp white cheese and they still didn't do it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Totally awesome! I added a handful of whole garlic to my potatoes while they were boiling. I also sautéed lots of garlic and a whole onion and added fresh spinach. I didn't have sour cream, so I mashed the potatoes and garlic with a little coconut milk. And I took the suggestion of other reviews and added French's Onions on top to bake. I don't think I'll ever want boring plain mashed potatoes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I made this for my boyfriend and I and we both LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was really good, we all loved it, even the kids. I will make these againg for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Yum!!! Holy cow were these delicious and gloriously addictive. I did not expect much from this recipe thinking it had spinach and would be gross. I had a ton of fresh spinach on hand and so decided to make them. I softened the spinach with a little olive oil in the fry pan.The only real change I made to these was to take out the onion and substitute the butter for less olive oil. I also used less of the sour cream. I think that just depends on the size of your potatoes. The only thing I would do differently next time would be to chop the big pieces of fresh spinach down a little smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
After reading other reviews, I also decided to add some bacon bits, green onions, and garlic. I also added some onion powder. This was delicious! I think this would be a great way to give some extra veggies to your kids, without compromising the taste of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Put me down as another fan! I boiled 3 potatoes, and as they drained, sautéed about 2 cups of spinach in a little water and about 1/2 T butter, with about 1/4 tsp jarred roasted garlic. Once nicely wilted, I dumped the potatoes back in the pan and took the masher to the whole thing. Once mashied, I added about 1/4 C shredded cheese and stirred. I had no sour cream and DH hates dill, so I added about 1 tsp apple cider vinegar (hey, I'd always loved it on spinach and on my steak fries!) and stirred some more. The vinegar gave it just the right 'sour' note. I didn't add extra cheese or bother baking (though I will in the future, and I'll be usin' the ramekins to make 'em pretty!). I'll also be trying them with bacon (for me...DH won't eat it). This recipe is going into permanent rotation! Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! I was looking for a new potato recipe & what a gem! I followed the suggestions of others to saute some fresh spinach in olive oil with garlic & onions. Instead of sour cream, I used Tzatziki sauce (and omitted dill since there already was some in the sauce) and it turned out beautifully. I look forward to trying it with sour cream & dill next time. Thank you for sharing your recipe by showing us a great way to enjoy spinach while also livening up plain old mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Everyone enjoyed!! Used one package of frozen spinach with 8 xtra large potatoes, 1/2 the butter, and added a bit of milk (mine were very stiff) and about 1T Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I loved these potatoes! I made these to go with 'Pot Roast with Balsamic Vinegar' from AR and the potatoes were the best part of the meal! I used fresh steamed spinach rather than frozen and I did not add the cheese at the end. This is a great way to get some add veggies and iron in to your diet. I will be making mashed potatoes this way again, soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States