Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Outstanding! While I made a number of changes to suit my taste, I know this would still be a 5-star recipe as written. I added a few garlic cloves to the potatoes as they were boiling. I wilted fresh spinach and used that rather than frozen. I added some cooked, crumbled bacon, used green onion and omitted the dill weed. At this point this dish was SO delicious and SO beautiful that I thought the shredded cheese would only ruin its elegance. The cheese, I still think, would have reduced the look of these potatoes to that of an ordinary casserole. This was the perfect accompaniment to the "Herb Crusted Chuck Roast" and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and everybody loved it. I had a bag of fresh spinach so I sauteed it with some garlic and onions in a small amount of olive oil. I also mixed the cheddar cheese into the potato mixture instead of on top and it made for a better presentation of the dish. I felt it was a tad on the dry side so next time I make it I'll try red potatoes since they make the creamiest mashed potatoes, or I'll add a small amount of milk to the recipe. Update: I originally did this review back in 2008 and have made this many times. Two things that are really good that I wanted to share that I have since tried with this recipe is the addition of crumbled bacon bits and green onions instead. And on another occasion I have topped with Frenches onions pieces and that was a hit. Just FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
FREAKIN' AWESOME! I used spinach dip just because it was handy instead of the spinach and sour cream seperately. I added a little bit of garlic as well. Definitely worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This is a very unique recipe and a crowd pleaser. The only thing I added was topping this casserole dish with French's French Fried Onions during the last 5 mins of cooking time. My family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
What a comforting dish. I made a small portion of this since it was just my husband and I. It was beyond outstanding. We finished the entire thing and my husband raved on and on about it. I added just a touch of garlic to the mix to suit our taste, but it would have been excellent without it. I think green onions would have also been excellent in this dish. I am already planning to make this one a staple on my holiday table. It is a dish I will be proud to serve. Thank you for this very delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
My husband is getting anti spinach, after always being a spinach eater! I made these and he just loved them! The only change I made in the recipe is that I used instant mashed potato's (enough) for 8 servings, added some granulated garlic and onion powder to the mix. Then I sprayed 2 small quart casseroles with non stick spray and froze one casserole for later! Yum-O this is a great recipe for adults too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was an absolute hit! Amazing! I replaced the frozen spinach with fresh sauteed in garlic, and omitted the cheese- why make veggies fattening and casserole-like? But oh so good- thank you!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Excellent - rich and creamy, with a slight tang from the sour cream. I cut the butter to 1/4 c. and used less cheese to try to cut the calories a bit, and it was still great. Goes very well with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Funny, when I was a kid, I used to mix my spinach with my mashed potatoes on my plate....! Anyway, great recipe. I omit the dill and add a bit of fresh ground nutmeg. Some spinach recipes often call for nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
These were really good, got rave reviews at dinner from friends that were over. I did add the frenchs onion on the top as suggested by someone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States