Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Excellent. Just what I needed. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've made this twice, once as written & then with improvements. As written, the sauce was not good. Way too tangy & thin. The patties completly fell apart when trying to cook in fry pan. I read all the reviews and improved by: adding 1/2 pack of onion soup mix to ground beef mix, along with worchestire sauce & garlic powder. The just browning the patties in a fry on over high heat & transferring to casserole pan. Make sure to use lean cut of meat, or you'll have a greasy mess. I used same fry pan to make gravy, scrapping leftovers to infuse flavor. Adding about 1/2 cup beef broth, remaining onion soup mix, mustard, ketchup, and a touch of brown sugar. I didn't like the color, so I added a bit of jarred brown gravy to it, this gave that traditional color. While mking the gravy, I sauteed mushrooms and added those to the gravy. Poured over patties and baked 375 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Didn't taste like the kind you buy.. But there were very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have used this recipe a number of times & enjoyed it each & every time. I have substituted the french onion soup with Lipton's dry mushroom/onion or beefy onion soup mix (mixed the soup with 2 cups of water & microwaved for 2 mins) when I didn't have the canned french onion & it still is delicious. This also makes more gravy! I also add sliced, sauteed mushrooms during the final stage of simmering. Its so easy to make & a hit every time with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
We love this recipe...To make extra gravy, I added an extra tablespoon of flour, 1 package of Onion Soup Mix, 1.25 cups of water, 1 onion chopped and 2 cups of sliced mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I thought I'd give this one a try. The meat was great but the sauce what disgusting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very flavorful! One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Best I've ever had. Thank you so much. First time I've tried it and it's already the family favorite. Looks like a twice a week meal for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arbuckle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I just made this tonight for dinner and I really didn't care for it. I don't know what happened but my patties didn't stay together. They all fell apart. This was just not one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CwgrlAge

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monrovia, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This wasn't an amazing dish. I agree with alot of raters...the gravy wasn't very appetizing. My food critics (5 chiildren and hubby) loved the steak itself...but didn't like the gravy. I will try one reviewers suggestion of one can of french onion and one can of cream of mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States