Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Here are the changes I made to what is now my favorite dish. In the gravy, I used a can of French Onion soup as well as a can of Cream of Mushroom and a packet of Dry Onion Soup. I omitted the salt due to the high sodium content in the soups. I'm glad I did. I doubled the gravy except for the ketchup...kept it at 1/4 cup while doubling the rest. I also added a jar of mushrooms to the gravy. After browning each side of the patties (and yes, having them fall apart slightly), I transferred the patties to a foil-lined casserole dish, put the gravy on top, covered the dish, and cooked it at 375 for 45 minutes. I was worried the patties wouldn't get all the way done because they were pretty thick, but they turned out perfect!!! We had it with brown rice (and had just enough wonderful gravy to go along with it!) and steamed broccoli. This is a new favorite recipe for my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2742 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I only rate a recipe if I make it as is, I don't think it is fair to make changes and then rate a recipe. So as-is this recipe is really good, 4 stars. The second time I made it I followed other reviewers advice and added Cream of Mushroom soup and sauteed onions and that made it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1522 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
The "steaks" themselves were tasty (heavily altered with additional seasonings). My steaks held their shape quite well. I cooked 1/2 batch on the stove and another batch in the oven... preferred the taste of the stove cooked batch, but the oven cooked batch tasted good too. The great disappointment with this recipe was the sauce - it was horrible, to put it kindly! I followed the advice of others to drastically cut the ketchup - but it didn't do much for the flavor. It was far from authentic tasting. I had extra patties and no sauce (not that I would have used the sauce anyway) - the next day I decided to try using Liptons Mushroom and Onion soup mix for the gravy. I followed the package instructions for making gravy... DELICIOUS! It was hands down the best tasting sauce for salisbury steak and so simple to make. So, if you're craving an old cafeteria food favorite - don't waste your time with the recipe for the sauce - buy a box of Lipton Mushroom Onion soup mix and make the gravy with it - you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
The only reason I gave this recipe four stars is because I ended up doing a lot of tweaking based on other recommendations. I ended up with a WONDERFUL meal. I took the following suggestions: I added chopped onion and garlic to meat mixture before browning. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup to French onion soup, and mixed in a small amount of brown gravy mix to give it some color and thickened it up a bit. I omitted the ketchup and doubled the amount to pour on top of garlic mashed potatoes. For those who had trouble keeping the patties together, try this as was suggested before. Instead of cooking in a skillet, place browned patties in a foil-lined casserole dish, pour gravy over top, and bake at 400 for 30 mins. Your patties will stay together nicely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
410 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
The best salisbury steak ever!! The sauce is great...I browned the steaks in a fry pan and then cooked them in the oven with the sauce poured over them for 30 min. at 325 degrees, covered...they were soooo tender and juicy. Family loved it....will make again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
i have made this recipe now every week...my husband and kids love this...i use onion soup mix and 2cups of water instead...so i dont add any more water to the sauce..i also add onions to the beef and alittle more bread crumbs...thank you i will keep on cooking this...m
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This was very good and so easy! I only made two changes: I used Onion Soup Mix in 1 1/2 cups water with a boullion cube and used brown gravy instead of ketchup (a family preference). Served them with garlic mashed potatoes - it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This is, by far, my favorite salisbury steak recipe. I try to double the gravy because it's so good and just doesn't seem to make enough otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I have this exact same recipe at home and this has been one of my family's favorite recipes for years. Over time I have changed the original recipe though; I double the ingredients for the sauce because I felt there wasn’t enough to drizzle over the hamburger when it was done. Just my preference. The original recipe said to put the hamburger over egg noodles but I make garlic mashed potatoes and corn. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Very good for something quick and easy to make with ground beef. I added garlic powder to the meat mixture and fried the patties in bacon fat for added flavor. I doubled the amount of gravy, substituted red wine for the water, and added 8 ounces of sauteed mushrooms. This is great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States