Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Whenever, I cook anything it's always something that I feel like eating, but I actually cook with the hope that my son will love it! He is only 8 years old and his palette is not fully developed, but with allrecipes I'm working on it! He loved this recipe he asked me to give it 5 stars! I always make the recipe exactly as written but in this case I did double the gravy and I'm glad I did, I made it with mashed potatoes and I had enough gravy to go over the mashed potatoes. For the next time I will remember to flatten the patties so they do not resemble hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Sauce ruined it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This recipe has become one of my weeknight favorites, because it is so easy to prepare and very tasty. I like to serve it over oven roasted red potatoes or some roasted Brussel's sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I loved this, and it was a huge hit with the family! I did add a can of cream of mushroom soup to the gravy and im glad i did because i think the ketchup would have otherwise been overwhelming. i cooked the steaks in a cast iron skillet and baked in the oven for 30 minutes after adding the gravy. Comfot food, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is AWESOME! Hamburger steaks are one of dh's favorite dishes, so we have them regularly - they have never come out as tender with such good gravy as this tho. Next time I will attempt to double the gravy (did double the Worcestershire) and hope it comes out as tasty. Did not add the flour or salt, and cooked, covered, in the oven at 175 for several hours after browning. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This has turned into a family fav. I cut out the ketchup and use a can of mushroom soup in the gravy. I also brown the patties then bake them in the oven as other have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Greely, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Excellent. Just what I needed. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've made this twice, once as written & then with improvements. As written, the sauce was not good. Way too tangy & thin. The patties completly fell apart when trying to cook in fry pan. I read all the reviews and improved by: adding 1/2 pack of onion soup mix to ground beef mix, along with worchestire sauce & garlic powder. The just browning the patties in a fry on over high heat & transferring to casserole pan. Make sure to use lean cut of meat, or you'll have a greasy mess. I used same fry pan to make gravy, scrapping leftovers to infuse flavor. Adding about 1/2 cup beef broth, remaining onion soup mix, mustard, ketchup, and a touch of brown sugar. I didn't like the color, so I added a bit of jarred brown gravy to it, this gave that traditional color. While mking the gravy, I sauteed mushrooms and added those to the gravy. Poured over patties and baked 375 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Didn't taste like the kind you buy.. But there were very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have used this recipe a number of times & enjoyed it each & every time. I have substituted the french onion soup with Lipton's dry mushroom/onion or beefy onion soup mix (mixed the soup with 2 cups of water & microwaved for 2 mins) when I didn't have the canned french onion & it still is delicious. This also makes more gravy! I also add sliced, sauteed mushrooms during the final stage of simmering. Its so easy to make & a hit every time with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States