Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I had a severe attack of gout and have had to adapt a number of great recipes from AR. If you are prone to gout, broths and soups made with beef or chicken broth are one of the worst things you can eat. I was so hungry for this Salisbury Steak that I had to find something to sub for the canned onion soup. So I caramelized two very large yellow onions, which made a little over a cup, then I put them in a small saucepan with about a cup and a half of vegetable broth and gently warmed that and let it cool. I then followed the recipe as written, except using my homemade onion soup concentrate in place of the canned. It turned out fabulous and tasted exactly the same: Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I made this recipe exact. (I don't think it's fair to rate a recipe after you've made it a different recipe.) i gave it 4 stars because the ketchup made it taste too sweet/ketchupy. Lol. Next time I make it I'll omit it. But it was very good! Definitely will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Well let me first say, this was great for me and my family everyone loved it. But I've seen reviews saying its disgusting. Hmmm maybe you did something wrong. I didn't add or take away anything. Very delicious meal and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Mayo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I love this recipe, exactly as it is. I have made this many, many times and have never changed a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Love this! The recipe is great. For extra sauce all I do is open up 2-3 cans of Golden Mushroom Soup depending on how much gravy I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Doubled sauce with extra can of French Onion, can of cream of mushroon, and lipton soup packet. Omitted ketchup. Used Pino Noir instead of water. After browning, removed patties, sauteed mushrooms and onions in pan and scraped up bits with Pinot. Really added depth. SO loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Kelly, I cannot say enough about the reaction I got from my children. My son (5 1/2) told me I was the best "cooker" ever and he wanted me to make this every night. My daughter (3 1/2), referred to this as "sauce hamburgers" and wanted more. My husband and I enjoyed them too. Definitely a recipe we will keep around. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This turned out great! I didn't have a pan big enough to make them separately so I made it as a meatloaf, cooked about 90%, then sliced it and laid the pieces in a casserole dish and topped with the sauce for final cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is so good. I couldn't find onion soup so I found a recipe for that online. I also added about 1/2 cup of water to the bottom of the pan. I froze some left overs and they freeze well. My husband was so upset because he thought I had left them in the refrigerator to ruin...but he got a pleasant surprise. I am just pulling up the recipe so I can make it again. I just jotted this one down in my preferred recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Our family loves this recipe done just like the recipe, except I double the sauce and add fresh mushrooms to it. So easy and delicious, reminds me of my mom's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States