Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
Loved this. I added zucchini to the patties and some beefy onion soup mix to the gravy. It had the perfect Salisbury Steak flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
My husband made this today as he was off from work. It was Delicious!! He used fresh mushrooms & didn't complain at all about the recipe. Great Job- Tasty- We'll make it again. Thanks Dee NJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
Delicious recipe... My family loves it! I add about a half cup of red wine in the gravy to bring out the beef flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
This was very good. We used bison burger. Only had canned mushrooms but they worked just fine. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
This was not great. I was getting bored with my hamburger steak recipe & wanted to try something different. I guess I need to keep looking. I've always made the gravy from the scrapings at the bottom of the pan - you don't get that with this recipe. I will say my husband & daughter thought it was good. My son & I couldn't finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Merritt
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
Was a quick easy meal and I had everything already. Plus it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brett Washam
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
Love this recipe. I will say that the onion is a bit over what was needed. Next time I will use a small onion for the slices rather then a large onion. Other then that even my picky eaters loved it. I served it with green bean and mushroom medley (from allrecipes) and mashed potatoes. I used the gravy over the mashed potatoes and it was a wonderful compliment to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett Washam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
I've never made this before, having only tried the frozen version as a child. I did alter it a little, because I have a hard time following instructions :) I browned the patties, then put them in a foil lined baking dish. When they were all finished I put the broth (2c water and 2 bullion cubes) along with onions and mushrooms in the skillet, simmered it for about ten minutes, then added 2 tbsp cornstarch/water mix. After it thickened a little I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes since my skillets aren't large enough to do it as the recipe says. It came out lovely! My hubby actually said it was delicious (rather his joking "it's terrible") Thank you so much for this. Which I can use as a solid base. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
I added extra water because 3 TB of corn starch really thickened this sauce. I also added 2 TB worcestershire sauce. Excellent recipe and one for the recipe box for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Brown Eskeli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
If I'd made this exactly as written, I'd probably have given it only 2 stars. With so many "I liked it exactly as written" reviews, I decided the only change I would make was to saute the onions & mushrooms before adding them to the broth, but I should have tweaked a bit more. Even with the onions caramelized a little bit to help flavor the broth, I still thought it was plain. I can't imagine if the veggies had just been boiled in the broth. Next time I will season the gravy with a little black pepper, and probably a few other things (garlic, Worcestershire, herbs...haven't decided yet). This recipe is beautiful in the fact that it isn't based on things like onion soup mix or cream of condensed soups, and without too much tweaking I'm sure I'll have a "keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States