Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was a family hit! I made a few adjustments. I only used 2lbs of beef, added 1 cup of ketchup, 1 teaspoon onion powder, 1 tablespoon minced garlic, 1/2 cup water and 1-1/2 teaspoon Lawry season salt. I made 9 patties and baked them in a glass dish @ 350 for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made a scaled down recipe for 5 people. Used 1 pound ground beef and 1/2 pound ground pork. I omitted the tomato because I didn't have one, Used 1 egg, 1 tablespoon chopped garlic and 1/4 of a medium onion, salt and black pepper. I baked on a deep cookie sheet @350 for about 35 minutes, flipped them over halfway through. After it was fully cooked I transefered to a baking dish and covered with Pioneer brand brown gravy. Served with "Bellas rosemary red potatoes and biscuits. Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I made it & it was goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtlemom76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I made these ahead and froze them- that part was great. The family however was split- half LOVED these and the other half could take them or leave them. Used all ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was good but can't rate 5 stars because I made a few changes. I used 1 lb. beef and 1/4 pound of ground sausage, used dried french fried onions in place of the diced onion. I cooked in the of 350 for 40 minutes. This recipe made 8 egg shaped patties. We wanted gravy so we used the recipe from the other salisbury steak (subbed water with low sodium beef broth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Quick and easy... I added a little salsa in place of tomatoes because I didn't have any. Husband ate it, but didn't rave or ask for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
These were wonderful, and gluten-free and dairy-free! I didn't have any pork on hand so I just used burger and made a brown au jus gravy for the top (along with mashed potatoes YUM!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
These were so tasty! While not my ideal opinion of what "salisbury steak" tastes like, this, in some ways, was much better tasting! It has a tangy zip, from the excellent addition of tomatoes, and because it doesn't call for adding a mess of canned and powdered soup mixes, the rich taste of the meat really shines through. Really, these are fantastic! I browned my patties in a skillet before baking so that I could use the hearty drippings to make the sauce with. Just sauteeing a large onion and some diced mushrooms in the meat drippings, then adding water, cornstarch and some beef stock made the absolutely perfect complimentary sauce for these "steaks", and I look forward to making this again! It's nice to find recipes that don't require a bunch of processed and pre-packaged ingredients in them, too... canned breadcrumbs, powdered soup, etc.? That's not my idea of homestyle cooking! Nothing tastes better than healthy, from-scratch homemade food, and this recipe is a nice testimony to that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Very simple & tasty dish. We substituted low sodium dry onion soup since that’s what we had on hand. Because we used “dry” soup, we added approx. ½c water to the meat mixture. As others suggested, we doubled the sauce to serve w/ mashed potatoes. Will keep & make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Very tasty dish. I, too, like the 'no breading' option. I did make a couple of changes: added Montreal Steak seasoning to the mix and simmered anaheim chili slices in au jus for the 'gravy'. It got thumbs up in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyrd Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States