Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Everything about this recipe is RIGHT ON!!!!! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
These were so tasty! While not my ideal opinion of what "salisbury steak" tastes like, this, in some ways, was much better tasting! It has a tangy zip, from the excellent addition of tomatoes, and because it doesn't call for adding a mess of canned and powdered soup mixes, the rich taste of the meat really shines through. Really, these are fantastic! I browned my patties in a skillet before baking so that I could use the hearty drippings to make the sauce with. Just sauteeing a large onion and some diced mushrooms in the meat drippings, then adding water, cornstarch and some beef stock made the absolutely perfect complimentary sauce for these "steaks", and I look forward to making this again! It's nice to find recipes that don't require a bunch of processed and pre-packaged ingredients in them, too... canned breadcrumbs, powdered soup, etc.? That's not my idea of homestyle cooking! Nothing tastes better than healthy, from-scratch homemade food, and this recipe is a nice testimony to that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
I was excited to find a salisbury patty recipe that didn't have breadcrumbs or other carbs in it. Thank you! I just used a gravy recipe from another submitter and this turned out GREAT. Don't sweat the nasty reviewer below... she seems to leave nasty reviews in her wake wherever she goes. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
I found this a teeny bit bland, but when I tried to spice it up the second time, my husband said he liked the orignal better--and he likes even spicier food than I do! This is easy and fast and is often requested at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Excellent recipe! I wonder if a little italian seasoning could turn these also into the perfect meatballs. The flavor is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
WOW ~ what a great recipe!! Really easy to make and perfect for an Atkin's friendly meal. I made this with "Patty's Mashed Turnips" (also found on this sight). A super low-carb dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This is very good and fast. I didn't use ground pork, just the beef and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
These were wonderful, and gluten-free and dairy-free! I didn't have any pork on hand so I just used burger and made a brown au jus gravy for the top (along with mashed potatoes YUM!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was good but can't rate 5 stars because I made a few changes. I used 1 lb. beef and 1/4 pound of ground sausage, used dried french fried onions in place of the diced onion. I cooked in the of 350 for 40 minutes. This recipe made 8 egg shaped patties. We wanted gravy so we used the recipe from the other salisbury steak (subbed water with low sodium beef broth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I prepared this tonight for my husband & new son-in-law - our daughter, who does NOT care for Salisbury steak, LOVED this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States