Salad Nicoise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This is an excellent recipe and very tasty. We added fresh radishes for our garden. I only give this four stars because the prep time is a joke. Count on an hour or more for all the blanching, chopping, boiling, etc. well worth the trouble but don't be doing this when you are in a hurry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This simplified take on Julia Child's classic Salad Nicoise was just what I was after for a quick and healthy dinner. As a matter of personal taste I skipped the anchovies, onion and capers and used my own Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette. Rather than mixed greens, a la Julia, I used Boston lettuce. Once the potatoes are cooked, toss them with some of the vinaigrette and cover until you're ready to serve. They absorb all that flavorful goodness. Rather than tossing altogether, I arranged this as a composed salad. This, a small baguette and a cup of clam chowder completed our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Though we liked the flavor of this salad, I decided to give it 3 stars dut to the amount of prep (boil potatoes, eggs, blanch beans), as well as the specialty ingredients (olives/anchovies) remainders of which would sit in my fridge unusued - as these are not staples in other recipes we use. However, I do like the style of salad and will likely continue tweaking this recipe until I can fit it into our budget/time frames.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Followed directions to the "T" and also used the "Lemon Vinaigrette salad" dressing from this website. Absolutely delicious! A perfect summer salad. Extra bonus: my husband told me this is THE BEST salad he's ever had in his life! He wants to have it again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was fantastic! I added an extra Tbl. of capers, and left off the onion and anchovy filets, just as a personal preference. I couldn't find a lemon vinaigrette on this site, so I used another one I found, and it ended up being perfect!: 1/8 cup fresh lemon juice + 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil + 1/2 tsp. Dijon mustard + 1 clove garlic, minced + 1/2 tsp. kosher salt + 1/8 tsp. fresh ground pepper. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Great salad. I used fresh tuna which I grilled Cajun style. Served on the side. Excellent flavour, lovely dressing. High protein meal, great if you are on a low card diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Perfect recipe! Tastes so fresh and healthy. No changes made to this recipe - definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Healthy, with good taste. Took awhile to assemble. Particularly good with fresh tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly except for the green beans and it was excellent. I used the recipe for "lemon vinaigrette salad" for the dressing and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States