Saint Paddy's Irish Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Made for Recipe Group. Seems like not one of us has made the recipe the way she wrote it LOL. I used seedless rye and some swiss cheese, because it's not any kind of reuben without those. And I really missed not having Thousand Island dressing on it, but the mustard was good. I had corned beef leftovers from the day before and just pan grilled the sandwiches. Love the quick pickle slaw recipe though. We ate leftovers of that just as a side dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Recipe Group Selection: 14, March 2015 ~ A nice twist on a traditional Reuben sandwich. I used leftover 'Stout Slow Cooker Corned Beef' from AR for the meat and two different kinds of rye breads. We did like the spicy brown mustard for a different condiment. I added a thin slice of Swiss cheese to the sandwich and popped them under the broiler until melted. Where we are from a corned beef sandwich with cole slaw is called a Rachael.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This sandwich was a good way for me to use the small amount of leftover Braised Corned Beef Brisket (mauigirl's recipe) I had made for St. Patrick's Day. For the dressing, I mixed olive oil, red wine vinegar, a pinch of sugar, and greek oregano. I poured over shredded cabbage and carrot and allowed it to marinate for four hours in the refrigerator. I spread the spicy brown mustard on lightly toasted Amish White Bread (recipe from this site). Unfortunately, we felt the sandwich would have been better with a different type of mustard as the spicy brown mustard was a bit overpowering for our taste. Thank you, bignosekate for sharing your recipe. This was the Buzz Recipe Group selection for March 14, 2015.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Recipe Group: So good! I subbed honey mustard in the vinagraitte, and for the sandwich I used yellow mustard mixed with a bit of horseradish and black pepper. I nuked my cabbage for 60 seconds before pouring on the dressing to help wilt it down a bit. Delicious, different sandwich to use up my leftover Guinness Corned Beef, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Fabulous combination of ingredients. Loved it! I used a different recipe for the corned beef ... the cabbage slaw makes this sandwich great! (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*). Looking forward to another and another and another. Thanks bignosekate for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Made this for Recipe Group...DELICIOUS! I did use 'Braised Corned Beef Brisket' recipe from here for the corned beef and I also used our favorite vinegar slaw. Loved the use of the toasted sourdough and the addition of the spicy brown mustard. I followed others and added some swiss...this is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this recipe a couple of months ago, and my entire family loved it and wanted more. Like another reviewer, I made it Panini style. My cabbage was cooked because I was using up leftovers. It still worked wonderfully. Thank you for this recipe. The balsamic vinegar is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Loved it!!!! I made the sandwiches Panini style on the stovetop and added some Swiss cheese. I will forever make my ruebens with coleslaw instead of kraut, so much better! Used recipe "corned beef for sandwiches" off this site for the meat as it is the best I have ever tried. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This recipe caught my eye because the cabbage wasn't cooked. I may be Irish but never did like sauerkraut. I cheated a bit, I had some very lean top loin corned beef from the deli. I made my cabbage mixture early in the day and let it sit in the fridge all day to marinate. I used cider vinegar and left out the salt and just kept throwing in shredded cabbage until it reached the right consistency. After I had my sandwich put together I decided to heat it up, so put it in my convection microwave on 350° until the Swiss cheese melted. Heating it was a great idea. Served with dill pickle wedges and chips. I'm not waiting until St. Patrick's day to make this great tasting sandwich again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This recipe is wonderful. I was out of spicy mustard so I used half yellow mustard and half horseradish. Also, like other viewers I added swiss cheese and I also sliced some tomatoes for us adults. And I marinated the cabbage ahead of time so it had time to absorb. There was too much cabbage leftover, but perhaps that's because I added other things to the sandwich. Next time I will probably half the cabbage and marinade. Overall, it was Excellent, my kids loved it, my husband loved it and I loved it! Great recipe! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States