Sage Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I didn't have beef bouillon so I substituted chicken, but it still came out very tasty. It's a keeper for our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Jackson, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious! So I was a bit lazy. I melted about a TBSP of butter and added a bit of olive oil. I didn't feel like measuring so sprinkled the salt, pepper and sage on one side of the chops. I also sprinkled a bit of rosemary, too. I put the cops seasoned side down in the frying pan and sprinled the seasonings on the other side. I browned in the pan on both sides and took out the chops. I then added bouillion concentrate, a few splashed of white wine and a little bit of water (didn't measure). Stirred it up and returned the chops and simmered on low turning a few times. It was really good and chops were very tender. I covered when simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
My kids loved this recipe!! *cooked as per recipe*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I used 1/2 teaspoon thyme and 1/4 teaspoonful of salt to the sage and pepper. and-added 1clove of garlic and some mushrooms when sautéing the onion. Thickened the juices to make a lovely gravy which I couldn't resist finishing off with a slice of crusty bread. Mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falkirkscottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
These came out very tender, but too salty for us. I just sprinkled the chops with some salt instead of using the recommended 2 tsp, and I used unsalted butter. I wouldn't use any salt next time as the bouillon has plenty. I added fresh garlic and some sliced onions when I was browning the meat. And you definitely need to add a cornstarch slurry and make gravy--that really makes the whole dish. You can tweak this recipe to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
So easy and delicious! I used a smidge less sage than called for. Served with egg noodles and broccoli and I'll be making this again. Oh, I followed someone else's review and added some chopped onion to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very good, very easy. I bet this would work nice with other herbs (rosemary sounds especially nice). Fixed this exactly as stated and it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This had the potential to be great but I decided to use the salt according to the recipe instead of omitting it like the other reviews mentioned. It was WAY too salty and we could barely eat it!! I am even wondering if there was a mistake in the recipe. I will try this again without the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
These were really tasty. I used olive oil instead of butter for a healthier fat and omitted the salt. When the pork chops were finished cooking, I removed them from the liquid and added in a couple of tablespoons of corn starch. I let it simmer for a few minutes until thickened for a yummy sauce and served it all over a bed of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I leave out the sage and use ground white pepper instead of black pepper. I also use half the butter and only use enough water to barely cover the chops completly. I simmer them on low for about an hour and 15 min. I have been cooking them like this for over 35 yrs and everybody just loves them this way. Another option is to add a can or two of cream of mushroom soup but use less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 898) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States