Sage Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I am not a fan of bouillon cubes. I subbed a small amount of no sodium broth mixed with maybe a tablespoon of packaged beef gravy for 2 medium thickness bone-in pork chops. I added a small onion and sliced garlic to the gravy. Simmered on LOW for the 45 minutes produced a tasty, moist chop. I also use a quality butcher meat- You get what you pay for when it comes to meat!! That's a fact jack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I like these pork chops. My boyfriend LOVES them. He says they taste like bacon chops (and anything with bacon=better) SO it's a hit in my house! They're also almost painfully easy to make and near impossible to screw up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
These were probably the best pork chops that I've ever made. I used the seasoning mix recommended for salt, pepper, and sage, and only made it through 4/6 chops. The last two I just eyeballed it on each one and rubbed the spices in before adding them to the skillet. They just fell apart, they were so tender. Followed the rest of the recipe exactly, 5 min per side to brown, added the broth and let simmer away! I will say that my chops were a little big for my 12" skillet, they were climbing the walls, but they all turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Pork chops were plenty tender, but I was a little disappointed that there wasn't more sage flavor. Biggest complaint was that it was just too salty with the salt in the rub plus the bouillon cubes. If I were to make again, I'd definitely cut back on the salt in the pork chop rub. I did a little corn starch slurry for a nice pan sauce for the chops and the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Quite tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Easy recipe and very good; the chops were very tender. I omitted the salt; also removed chops from pan and made gravy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This recipe was a real hit with the family. Browned the pork chops for three minutes per side and cooked for 20 minutes. I added a dash of salt to the rub along with the sage and pepper. I also added a couple of pinches of garlic and onion powder. I used two cups of chicken broth as I wanted more gravy. I used 3 tbsp of corn starch mixed with the broth from the pan. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes also from this website. Next time I will leave the dash of salt out as it was just a tad too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I didn't have beef bouillon so I substituted chicken, but it still came out very tasty. It's a keeper for our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Jackson, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious! So I was a bit lazy. I melted about a TBSP of butter and added a bit of olive oil. I didn't feel like measuring so sprinkled the salt, pepper and sage on one side of the chops. I also sprinkled a bit of rosemary, too. I put the cops seasoned side down in the frying pan and sprinled the seasonings on the other side. I browned in the pan on both sides and took out the chops. I then added bouillion concentrate, a few splashed of white wine and a little bit of water (didn't measure). Stirred it up and returned the chops and simmered on low turning a few times. It was really good and chops were very tender. I covered when simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 886) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States