Sage Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nathalie
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I've tweaked the recipe around; crush together into a paste 3 cloves of garlic, pinch of salt, peppercorn, few leaves of sage, thyme, 1tsp mustard seeds, olive oil. Rub on pork chops and fry in 2tbsp butter until one side is slightly brown, turn over then sprinkle over the top chopped onions (1/2 white, 1/2 red), fry until caramelised. Remove chops and 1/2 of the fried onions from pan, add beef stock and boil for couple of minutes with cornflour to thicken, amazing gravy...and voila chopsters are ready!! I served them with mashed potato&swede and broccoli..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was a new flavor for me. My family and I enjoyed it. I recommend using a natural, uncured pork chop. The taste is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
These were a big hit! I didn't have bouillon cubes, so I just added water when it was time for the chops to simmer, and they still turned out great! My chops were thick, so the cooking time was perfect. And they weren't too salty, since there was no broth added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I am not a fan of bouillon cubes. I subbed a small amount of no sodium broth mixed with maybe a tablespoon of packaged beef gravy for 2 medium thickness bone-in pork chops. I added a small onion and sliced garlic to the gravy. Simmered on LOW for the 45 minutes produced a tasty, moist chop. I also use a quality butcher meat- You get what you pay for when it comes to meat!! That's a fact jack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I like these pork chops. My boyfriend LOVES them. He says they taste like bacon chops (and anything with bacon=better) SO it's a hit in my house! They're also almost painfully easy to make and near impossible to screw up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
These were probably the best pork chops that I've ever made. I used the seasoning mix recommended for salt, pepper, and sage, and only made it through 4/6 chops. The last two I just eyeballed it on each one and rubbed the spices in before adding them to the skillet. They just fell apart, they were so tender. Followed the rest of the recipe exactly, 5 min per side to brown, added the broth and let simmer away! I will say that my chops were a little big for my 12" skillet, they were climbing the walls, but they all turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Pork chops were plenty tender, but I was a little disappointed that there wasn't more sage flavor. Biggest complaint was that it was just too salty with the salt in the rub plus the bouillon cubes. If I were to make again, I'd definitely cut back on the salt in the pork chop rub. I did a little corn starch slurry for a nice pan sauce for the chops and the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Quite tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Easy recipe and very good; the chops were very tender. I omitted the salt; also removed chops from pan and made gravy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This recipe was a real hit with the family. Browned the pork chops for three minutes per side and cooked for 20 minutes. I added a dash of salt to the rub along with the sage and pepper. I also added a couple of pinches of garlic and onion powder. I used two cups of chicken broth as I wanted more gravy. I used 3 tbsp of corn starch mixed with the broth from the pan. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes also from this website. Next time I will leave the dash of salt out as it was just a tad too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States